• search
B S Yedyurappa

B S Yedyurappa

B.S Yedyurappa is an Indian politician, also the former and 19th Chief Minister of Karnataka from 2019 to 2021. He belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party.


B.S Yedyurappa played a significant role in paving the way for BJP's onslaught into Karnataka politics. Prior to 2008 assembly elections where he contested and won from the Shikaripur constituency for the seventh term, BJP's presence in Karnataka politics was a mere specter in the political horizon. The aftermath of the elections sealed BJP's fate in Karnataka government, where he led BJP to a historic win in the state and took the oath of office as Chief Minister on 30 May 2008. He was also responsible in helping Janata Dal (Secular) leader H. D. Kumaraswamy bring down the coalition government headed by Dharam Singh --former CM of Karnataka-- in 2007 and form an alternative government with BJP. An agreement was formed between the JD(S) and BJP, which specified that H. D. Kumaraswamy would be the Chief Minister for the first 20 months, after which Yedyurappa would become the Chief Minister for the remaining 20 months. Yedyurappa became the Deputy Chief Minister as well as the finance minister in Kumaraswamy's Government. However, Kumaraswamy reneged on his word that led to President's rule being declared in the state of Karnataka. They found a way to bury the hatchet, and Yedyurappa was sworn in as the Chief Minister 12th November 2007. This camaraderie didn't last long as the agreement was dissolved following a disagreement on sharing of ministries which resulted in his resignation as Chief Minister on 19 November 2007. After a tumultuous run as the CM of Karnataka, he found himself on the wrong side of the law where he was accused of illegally profiteering from land deals in Bangalore and Shimoga. Facing pressure from members of BJP, he decided to diverge from the party but later aligned his interests with the BJP and went on to become the CM of the state for the third time where BJP won 104 seats in the state of Karnataka in the 2018 elections. Due to failure in securing the required number of seats he had to resign two days after he was sworn into office. In 2019, When BJP bought down the Congress-JD-(S) coalition government, B.S Yeddyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Personal Life

Full Name B S Yedyurappa
Date of Birth 27 Feb 1943 (Age 79)
Place of Birth Bookina-kere, Mandya, Karnataka
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Education 12th Pass
Profession Agriculturist Educationist
Father's Name Late Shri Siddalingappa
Mother's Name Late Smt. Puttatayamma
Spouse's Name Late Smt. Mythra Devi
Spouse's Profession Deceased
Children 2 Son(s) 3 Daughter(s)
Religion Hindu


Permanent address No. 381,
Present address 3, South Avenue Lane, New Delhi-110 021
Contact number 08187-22277/222286
Email info@yeddyurappa.in
Social Handles

Education Qualification of B S Yedyurappa

B.S Yedyurappa completed his education from Government college, Mandya (Mysore University) in 1960–61.

Interesting Facts about B S Yedyurappa

His son Raghavendra Yedyurappa won the 15th Lok Sabha from Shimoga constituency in 2009. Yedyurappa contested from the same constituency in 2014 general elections.

Political Timeline of B S Yedyurappa

  • 2021
    B.S. Yedyurappa quits as Karnataka Chief Minister. He submitted his resignation on 26 July, 2021
  • 2019
    When BJP bought down the Congress-JD-(S) coalition government, B.S Yedyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister of Karnataka for a fourth term.
  • 2018
    Re-elected as the CM of Karnataka for the third time. However, he was forced to render in his resignation merely two days after he was sworn into office for failing to secure sufficient support for his nomination.
  • 2014
    Elected to 16th Lok Sabha elections from Shimoga constituency where he secured 606216 votes.
  • 2008
    Elected as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.
  • 2008
    Re-elected for a seventh term in the assembly elections from Shikaripur constituency by defeating former CM Bangarappa by a margin of 45000 votes.
  • 2007
    Elected as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. However, he had to resign after two weeks.
  • 2004
    Re-elected for a sixth term in the assembly elections by defeating Shekarappa of INC by a margin of 19760 votes.
  • 1994
    Re-elected for a fifth term where he once again defeated Nagaraja Mahadevappa with a 50.13% vote share. However, he lost the 1999 assembly election to Mahalingappa of INC.
  • 1989
    Re-elected for a third term where he defeated Nagaraja Mahadevappa of INC with a 41.42% vote share
  • 1985
    Re-elected for a second term by defeating M. Patil with am 53.52% vote share.
  • 1983
    He won the assembly elections from Shikaripur constituency where he defeated Yenkatappa of INC with 64.20% vote share.


During his tenure as Chief Minister,he was awarded Doctorate at Saginaw Valley University, Michigan State USA on 11 Dec. 2008 by Dr. Gilbertson, VC, in recognition of his services
Net Worth6.92 CRORE
Liabilities5 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.

B S Yedyurappa Latest News & Updates

Former CM announces retirement from electoral politics

B S Yediyurappa, the former Chief Minister of Karnataka, recently announced his retirement from electoral politics.
He has confirmed that he will continue politics but would not like to contest any elections in future.

Jan 31, 2023

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs on B S Yedyurappa)

Who was the 19th Chief Minister of Karnataka?

B.S Yedyurappa was the 19th Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Who is B.S Yedyurappa's wife?

B.S Yedyurappa was married to Late Smt. Mythra Devi.

What B.S Yedyurappa's caste?

B.S Yedyurappa belongs to Lingayat community.

Does B.S Yedyurappa have criminal cases?

Yes, B.S Yedyurappa has 8 criminal cases.

What is B.S Yedyurappa's net worth?

B.S Yedyurappa has net worth of ₹6.92 Crore.

From which party does B.S Yedyurappa belong to?

B.S Yedyurappa belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Who is B.S Yedyurappa?

B.S Yedyurappa is the current member of BJP Parliamentary board committee since 2022. He is also the former Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X