• search
Mamata Banerjee

Mamata Banerjee


Mamata Banerjee is the current Chief Minister of West Bengal, and is the chief of the All India Trinamool Congress. She was born in a middle class family in Kolkata, and entered active politics right from college. She joined the Congress in her youth, winning her first Lok Sabha election in 1984 from Jadavpur parliamentary Constituency, which she lost in 1989 and won again in 1991. She kept retaining the seat till the 2009 general elections. She founded the All India Trinamool Congress in 1997, and became Railway Minister twice. Following alliances with both the NDA and UPA, Banerjee rose to even more prominence during the Nandigram and Singur agitations. Finally, she was elected the Chief Minister of West Bengal in 2011, and re-elected in 2016, with even greater majority.
In 2021, when many TMC leaders left the party, Mamata took the ground and earned a massive majority for the party though she herself lost from Nandigram constituency to Suvendu Adhikari who had joined the BJP just ahead of WB election.

Personal Life

Full Name Mamata Banerjee
Date of Birth 05 Jan 1955 (Age 67)
Place of Birth Kolkata
Party name All India Trinamool Congress
Education Post Graduate
Profession Politics & Social Works
Father's Name Promileswar Banerjee
Mother's Name Gayatri Banerjee
Religion Hindu
Caste Brahmin


Permanent address R/o 30B, Harish Chatterjee Street, Kolkata - 700026
Present address R/o 30B, Harish Chatterjee Street, Kolkata - 700026
Social Handles

Interesting Facts

Mamata Banerjee became the first ever woman Chief Minister of West Bengal. She is popularly known as 'Didi', which translates into elder sister.
Banerjee has an Honors degree in History, a Master's degree in Islamic History, as well as degrees in Education and Law.
She writes poems and has sold almost 300 works of paintings.
She introduced Rabindra Sangeet, songs of Tagore, at traffic lights in Kolkata.
Before joining politics full time, Banerjee worked as a stenographer, a primary school teacher, a private tutor and even as a salesgirl.

Political Timeline

  • 2021
    Mamata Banerjee successfully led TMC to a tremendous victory, 3rd time in a row in West Bengal assembly election but she herself lost the election from Nandigram constituency to BJP's Suvendu Adhikari, once a close aide of theTMC chief.
  • 2016
    Became Chief Minister of West Bengal for a second term, as the TMC alone won 211 seats against a Left-Congress alliance.
  • 2012
    Mamata withdrew support from the UPA.
  • 2011
    Became the 8th Chief Minister of West Bengal, as a TMC-Congress alliance won 227 of the 294 seats, bringing down a 34 year Left Front rule in the state.
  • 2009
    Just before Loksabha elections, she joined Congress led UPA and won. Mamata registered her fifth consecutive victory from Kolkata Dakshin and was inducted in cabinet as Railway Minister. This was her second term as Railway Minister.
  • 2006
    Mamata called Banerjee major strike against proposed Tata Motors car project. Trinamool Congress MLAs protested inside the assembly by damaging furniture and microphones.
  • 2006
    On 4 August 2006, During the Loksabha proceedings, Mamata hurled her resignation papers at the deputy speaker Charanjit Singh Atwal.
  • 2006
    After losing Kolkata Municipal Corporation elections, Mamata started giving more focus to her party.
  • 2005
    Mamata protested against the forceful land acquisition by West Bengal government. More than lakh farmers were with Mamata.
  • 2004
    Mamata defeated Rabin Deb and retain her seat.
  • 1999
    Mamata's TMC joined National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government and she became the Union Railway Minister. She presented her first Railway Budget. She introduced 19 new trains for the FY 2000–2001.
  • 1999
    Mamata again won from Kolkata Dakshin. This time she defeated Subhankar Chakraborty for CPI(M).
  • 1998
    In 1998 General Election Mamata's vote share increased to 59%. She won by 224,081 votes against Prasanta Kumar Sur of CPI (M) from same seat.
  • 1997
    Mamata left the Congress Party and established All India Trinamool Congress, commonly known as TMC or Trinamool Congress. Soon her party became the primary opposition party in the eastern state.
  • 1996
    Mamata retained her Kolkata Dakshin seat. This time she won by 103,261 votes. She defeated Bharti Mukherjee of CPI (M).
  • 1991
    Mamata was made the Union Minister of State for Human Resources Development, Youth Affairs and Sports, and Women and Child Development during PV Narshimha Rao's government. Later she was discharged of her portfolios in 1993
  • 1991
    Mamata re-elected to Loksabha. This time she won from Kolkata Dakshin. She got 3,67,896 votes which was around 52 per cent of total votes.
  • 1989
    During 1989 Loksabha Election, Mamata lost Jadhavpur seat because of anti-Congress wave in West Bengal.
  • 1984
    In mid of the year 1984 she was appointed as the general secretary of the Indian Youth Congress.
  • 1984
    Won her first ever Lok Sabha election defeating Communist stalwart Somnath Chatterjee from Jadavpur Loksabha Constituency. Mamata became one of youngest parliamentarians.
  • 1976
    She became General Secretary of the Mahila Congress in West Bengal. She served this post for around four years.
  • 1974
    Mamata began her political career with district unit of Congress party.

Early Life

  • 1982
    She got LL.B. degree from Jogesh Chandra Chaudhury College of Law under the Calcutta University.
  • 1979
    He graduated from Calcutta University with Master of Arts degree. She was a student of 1977 batch but the exam was held in 1979.
  • 1970
    While studying at the Jogamaya Devi College she established Chhatra Parishad. This was the student's wing of the Congress (I). She defeated the Democratic Students’ Union of the Socialist Unity Centre of India.


Mamata Banerjee won her first ever Lok Sabha elections in 1984 by defeating veteran communist Somnath Chatterjee in Jadavpur. While at Congress, Banerjee has served as a junior minister in the HRD, Youth Affairs and Sports and Women and Child Development Ministries. After becoming CM of West Bengal, Mamata has been credited with efficiently tackling the Maoist menace in the state.
Net Worth16.72 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X