• search
Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar


A political stalwart with an distinguished portfolio to back up his tenure in the field, Nitish Kumar, has served Cheif Minister of Bihar for five terms. He has also served as a minister in the Union Government of India. He also served as MP of Barh for six terms. Nitish Kumar appealed the citizen's displeasure with the previous regime's performance in the state. He stepped into the tumultuous political fray of Bihar and formulated effective plans to cauterize Bihar's flailing economy. In the formative years of his Minister-ship, he appointed more than 100,000 school teachers, ensuring that doctors worked in primary health centers, developed infrastructure, cut female illiteracy by half, turning around a lawless state by cracking down on criminals and doubling the income of the average Bihari.

Personal Life

Full Name Nitish Kumar
Date of Birth 01 Mar 1951 (Age 71)
Place of Birth Bakhtiarpur, Distt. Patna (Bihar)
Party name Janata Dal (united)
Education Graduate
Profession Social Worker Agriculturist, Engineer
Father's Name Late Shri Kaviraj Ram Lakhan Singh
Mother's Name Smt. Parmeshwari Devi
Spouse's Name Smt. Manju Kumari Sinha
Children 1 Son(s)
Religion Hindu
Caste Other Backward Class (Kurmi)


Permanent address village. Hakkitpur, post and thana- Bakhiatpur,Distric- Patna
Present address 22, Akbar Road New Delhi - 110 001
Contact number (011) 23017588, 23017596, 9868180490 (M)

Interesting Facts

Nitish Kumar's administration increased the literacy rate amongst females by providing incentivized programs that constituted giving bicycles to girls who stayed in school.

Political Timeline

  • 2015
    On 22 February 2015, he again elected as chief minister of Bihar. He is incumbent on this post.
  • 2014
    On 20 May 2014, he stepped down as CM and Jitan Ram Manjhi was appointed as CM.
  • 2005
    Elected Chief Minister of Bihar (24 November 2005 – 17 May 2014), a position served in an intermittent capacity following few political glitches However scrambled back up into a position of power. Also, he became a member of the Legislative Council of Bihar.
  • 2004
    Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha for a sixth term from Nalanda. He became a Member of Committee on Coal & Steel, General Purposes Committee and Committee of Privileges. Also, he became a Leader of Janata Dal (U) Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha.
  • 2001
    Union Cabinet Minister, Agriculture with an additional charge of Railways and Union Cabinet Minister, Railways.
  • 2000
    He was sworn in as Chief Minister, Bihar and subsequently inducted into the cabinet as Union Cabinet Minister, Agriculture.
  • 1999
    Union Cabinet Minister, Surface Transport and Union Cabinet Minister, Agriculture.
  • 1999
    Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha from Barh where he defeated Vijay Krishna of RJD by a margin of 15,000 votes.
  • 1998
    Union Cabinet Minister, Railways and Union Cabinet Minister, Surface Transport.
  • 1998
    Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha from Barh where he defeated Vijoy Krishna of RJD.
  • 1996
    Member, Committee on Defense.
  • 1996
    Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (3rd term) where he defeated Vijay Krishna of JD by a margin of 60,000 votes.
  • 1993
    Chairman, Committee on Agriculture.
  • 1991
    Member, Railway Convention Committee.
  • 1991
    General-Secretary, Janata Dal.
  • 1991
    Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha for a second term from Barh where he defeated Sidheshwar Prasad of INC.
  • 1990
    Union Minister of State, Agriculture and Co-operation.
  • 1989
    Elected to 9th Lok Sabha from Barh constituency where he defeated Ramlakhan Singh Yadav by a margin of more than one lakh votes.
  • 1989
    Secretary-General, Janata Dal, Bihar.
  • 1987
    Member, Committee on Public Undertakings, Bihar Legislative Assembly.
  • 1986
    Member, Committee on Petitions, Bihar Legislative Assembly.


Net Worth36.46 LAKHS
Liabilities6.73 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X