• search
Pinarayi Vijayan

Pinarayi Vijayan


Pinarayi Vijayan is the current Chief Minister of Kerala, and a member of the Politburo of the Communist Party of India (Marxist). He was born in a poor family in Kannur district, and completed his schooling from Peralassery High School. He joined the Government Brennen College for pre-university studies. He entered active politics through student unions, before formally joining the Communist Party of India (Marxist) in 1964. He held various important positions in the party, including being a member of the district committee and district secretariat in Kannur, before being elected the Kannur District Secretary in 1986. Eventually, he became Kerala state secretary in 1998. Before being crowned the Chief Minister, he held vital portfolios including Minister of Electricity and Minister of Co-operatives in the state of Kerala.

Vijayan created history as he led the LDF storming back to power consecutively. He is the only one to be sworn as the Chief Minister of Kerala back to back.

Personal Life

Full Name Pinarayi Vijayan
Date of Birth 21 Mar 1944 (Age 78)
Place of Birth Kannur
Party name Communist Party Of India (marxist)
Education 12th Pass
Profession Politician
Father's Name Maroli Koran
Mother's Name Kalyani
Spouse's Name Kamala Vijayan
Spouse's Profession Retired teacher
Children 1 Son(s) 1 Daughter(s)


Permanent address Pravik Pandyala Mukku, P.O.- Pinarayi Pin No- 670741
Present address Pravik Pandyala Mukku, P.O.- Pinarayi Pin No- 670741
Social Handles

Interesting Facts

After completing his schooling, Pinarayi Vijayan worked as a handloom weaver for a year. He became the CPI(M) Kerala state secretary in 1998, and remained in the position till 2015. He was arrested and allegedly tortured by the police during the Emergency. After his release, Pinarayi Vijayan delivered a legendary speech while waving his blood-stained shirt, pointing to the alleged brutality he faced.

Political Timeline

  • 2021
    Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as the Chief Minister of Kerala for a second term on 20 May, 2021
  • 2021
    Vijayan not only drive the party to a record breaking come back to power, also registered victory in Kerala Assembly election from DHARMADAM constituency of Kannur district.
  • 2016
    Elected as Chief Minister of Kerala after defeating Mambaram Divakaran of the INC in Dharmadom constituency.
  • 2002
    Became a member of the politburo the CPI(M).
  • 1998
    He was elected the state secretary of the CPI(M) for Kerala.
  • 1996
    Served as the Minister of Electricity and Minister of Co-operatives in Kerala.
  • 1996
    Won the assembly elections from the Payyannur seat defeating KN Kannoth of the INC.
  • 1991
    Won the election from Koothuparamba for the third time, defeating P Ramakrishnan of the INC.
  • 1988
    He became a member of the CPI(M) state secretariat.
  • 1986
    He was elected as the CPI(M) Kannur district secretary.
  • 1978
    He was elected to the CPI(M) Kerala state committee.
  • 1977
    Won the elections from Koothuparamba for the second time, defeating Abdulkadar of the RSP.
  • 1972
    He became a member of the Kannur district secretariat for CPI(M).
  • 1970
    Won his first Kerala Assembly elections from the Koothuparamba constituency, defeating Thayath Raghavan of the PSP.
  • 1968
    Elected to the Kannur district committee of CPI(M).
  • 1964
    Joined the Communist Party of India (Marxist).

Early Life

  • 1962
    Joined the Government Brennen College in Thalsssery for pre-university studies..


Pinarayi Vijayan won the Kerala Assembly elections five times, in 1970, 1977, 1991, 1996 and 2016, from three different constituencies. He was lauded for his role in relieving communal tension during the 1971 Thalassery riots, and his efforts are mentioned in the official Justice Joseph Vithayathil Commision report's 220th paragraph. As minister of electricity between 1996 and 1998, Pinarayi Vijayan is credited with increasing power generation in the state. He is seen as the guiding light behind the formation of RUBCO as well.
Net Worth99.22 LAKHS
Liabilities7.95 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X