• search
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi


A student leader at the time of emergency, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, first contested the parliamentary elections in 1980 as an independent candidate, albeit with no avail. He won his first election in 1998 from Rampur constituency in Uttar Pradesh and was subsequently inducted to the Cabinet as Ministry of Information and Broadcasting with an additional charge of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs. He was elected as a member of Rajya Sabha in 2002. He's serving his third term in Rajya Sabha and is the current Union Minister of Minority Affairs. In 2019, he retained his position in the newly minted cabinet as Minster of Minority affairs.

Personal Life

Full Name Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
Date of Birth 15 Oct 1957 (Age 62)
Place of Birth Bhadari, Distt.Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh)
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Profession Agriculturist, Writer, Political and Social Activist
Father's Name Late Shri A.H. Naqvi
Mother's Name Late Shrimati Sakina Begum
Spouse's Name Shrimati Seema Naqvi
Spouse's Profession Business
No of Sons 1


Permanent address Bungalow No. 3, Jajej Road, Civil Lines, Rampur, U.P.244901 245, Vigyapan Lok, Mayur Vihar, Phase-I Extn. New Delhi110091
Present address Bungalow No. 7, Safdarjung Road, New Delhi110029
Contact number 23011977, 23011978, 9868181179, 9013181115, 9958541983
Email naqvimukhtar@yahoo.com
Social Handles

Interesting Facts

Actively involved and associated with several socio-cultural and academic activities including upliftment of artisans.

Political Timeline

  • 2019
    He retained his position in the newly minted cabinet as Minster of Minority affairs.
  • 2016
    Re-elected to Rajya Sabha. Subsequently, elected Minister of State in the Ministry of Minority Affairs.
  • 2014
    Member, Committee on Home Affairs Chairman, Committee on Papers Laid on the Table.
  • 2010
    Member, Committee on Defence and Member, Select Committee to the Wakf (Amendment) Bill.
  • 2010
    Member, Consultative Committee for Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas Member, Hindi Salahkar Samiti, Ministry of Civil Aviation.
  • 2010
    Elected to Rajya Sabha (resigned w.e.f. 23 June 2016).
  • 2006
    Member, Committee on External Affairs.
  • 2004
    Elected Chairman, Air Charter Operations Committee (Haj), Government of India Member, Court of Aligarh Muslim University.
  • 2004
    Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology.
  • 2003
    Member, Committee on Finance and Member, Committee on Commerce.
  • 2001
    Elected Vice-Chairman, Centre for Cultural Resources and Training (CCRT), Ministry of Culture, Government of India.
  • 2001
    Elected to Rajya Sabha from Jharkand.
  • 1998
    Member, Twelfth Lok Sabha from Rampur constituency in Uttar Pradesh where he defeated Begum Noor Bano of INC with a margin of 5000 votes.
  • 1998
    Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting with an additional charge of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.
Net WorthN/A

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more