• search
Motilal Vora

Motilal Vora


Former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Motilal Vora worked for several newspapers before he forayed into politics and won his first assembly election in 1972. Subsequently, he was inducted into the cabinet as a Union Minister in Arjun's Singh's administration in 1983. In 1985, he was sworn into office as Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. He also served as the Governor of Uttar Pradesh in 1993. After his tenure as Governor ended, he contested and won the 1998 Lok Sabha elections from Rajnandgaon constituency in Madhya Pradesh, albeit he lost the following election to Dr. Raman of BJP. He's served four terms as a Rajya Sabha member from Chattisgarh.

Personal Life

Full Name Motilal Vora
Date of Birth 20 Dec 1928 (Age 91)
Place of Birth Nagaur (Rajasthan)
Party name Indian National Congress
Profession Journalist, Political and Social Worker
Father's Name Late Shri Mohanlal Vora
Mother's Name Late Shrimati Amba Bai
Spouse's Name Shrimati Shanti Devi Vora
Spouse's Profession House wife
No of Sons 2
No of Daughters 4


Permanent address expand Permanent Address: SM-38, Padmnabhpur, Durg, Chhattisgarh
Present address Bungalow No. 33, Lodhi Estate, New Delhi
Contact number 24651313, 24653800,21430810,9868181076
Email vora@sansad.nic.in

Interesting Facts

In 1968, Vora was a member of the Samajwadi Party. In 1970, he joined INC when he was acquainted with Pt., Kishorilal Shukla, a member of Congress party.

Political Timeline

  • 2014
    He was re-elected to Rajya Sabha (fourth term) and appointed as Member, Committee on Railways.
  • 2009
    Member, Committee on Energy.
  • 2009
    Member, Committee on Subordinate Legislation.
  • 2009
    Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.
  • 2008
    Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (third term) and served as Member, Committee on Railways.
  • 2008
    He was elected as Member, Sub-Committee of the Department-related Parliamentary Standing Committee on Railways.
  • 2004
    Member, Committee on Energy and Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Panchayati Raj and Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.
  • 2002
    Elected to Rajya Sabha for a second term and served as Member, Committee on Home Affairs.
  • 1998
    Member, Twelfth Lok Sabha from Rajnandgaon constituency in Madhya Pradesh by defeating Ashok Sharma of BJP with a margin of more than a lakh votes.
  • 1993
    He became the Governor of Uttar Pradesh.
  • 1989
    Elected as Chief Minister, Madhya Pradesh for a second term.
  • 1988
    Elected to Rajya Sabha and subsequently elected as Union Cabinet Minister of Health and Family Welfare.
  • 1985
    He was sworn in as the Chief Minister, Madhya Pradesh. He resigned from the position in 88 to join the Union Government.
  • 1981
    He was appointed State Minister and Cabinet Minister, Government of Madhya Pradesh.
  • 1972
    Member, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly from Durg constituency where he secured a 70% votes are and subsequently he was elected Vice-Chairman, Madhya Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation.
Net WorthN/A

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more