• search
P. Chidambaram

P. Chidambaram


P. Chidambaram served as the former Member of Parliament and Union Minister under Manmohan Singh's government. He currently serves as a member of Rajya Sabha. He served as the MP of Sivaganga for seven terms. He also served as finance minister following the departure of Pranab Mukherjee from the post. He was a stalwart member of INC until he quit the Congress party in 1996 and joined a breakaway faction of the Tamil Nadu state unit of the Congress party called the Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC). In 1996 general elections TMC formed a coalition government along with Congress and the regional parties in Tamil Nadu.

Personal Life

Full Name P. Chidambaram
Date of Birth 16 Sep 1945 (Age 77)
Place of Birth Kanadukathan, Distt. Sivaganga (Tamil Nadu)
Party name Indian National Congress
Education Post Graduate
Profession Lawyer
Father's Name Shri Palaniappan
Mother's Name Shrimati Lakshmi Achi
Spouse's Name Shrimati Nalini Chidambaram
Children 1 Son(s)


Permanent address Kandanur, Sivaganga District.
Contact number 21430425
Email chidambaram@sansad.nic.in

Interesting Facts about P. Chidambaram

Chidambaram nominated his son Karti to contest the 2014 general elections from Sivaganga, which he subsequently lost.

Political Timeline of P. Chidambaram

  • 2022
    Congress candidate P. Chidambaram elected to Rajya Sabha from Tami Nadu.
  • 2012
    He was elected Union Cabinet Minister, Finance.
  • 2009
    He was elected Union Cabinet Minister, Home Affairs
  • 2009
    Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha again from Sivaganga where he defeated Raja Kannappan R.S of ADMK by a margin of over 3000 votes.
  • 2004
    He was appointed Union Cabinet Minister, Finance
  • 2004
    He was re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha from Sivaganga as an INC candidate where he defeated Karuppiah. SP of ADMK by a margin of two lakh votes.
  • 1998
    He was re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha for the fifth term from Sivaganga.
  • 1998
    He was the Member, Twelfth Lok Sabha (fifth term) 1998-99 Member, Committee of Privileges Member, Committee on Finance Member, Consultative Committee,
  • 1996
    He was elected Union Cabinet Minister, Finance (with an additional charge of Law, Justice and Company Affairs, June 1996 and held a charge of Company Affairs till April 1997).
  • 1996
    He was re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha as a TMC candidate by defeating Gowrishankaran M. of INC by a margin of 0ne lakh votes.
  • 1991
    He was re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha from Sivaganga as INC candidate, where he defeated Kasinathan V. of DMK by a margin of 2.5 lakh votes.
  • 1989
    He was re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha for a second term from Sivaganga.
  • 1986
    He was elected Union Minister of State, Home Affairs (Internal Security).
  • 1986
    He was appointed Union Minister of State, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions.
  • 1985
    He was appointed Union Deputy Minister, Personnel, Administrative Reforms, Training Public Grievances and Pensions.
  • 1985
    He was appointed Union Deputy Minister, Commerce.
  • 1985
    He was chosen Joint Secretary, All India Congress Committee (Indira) [A.I.C.C.]
  • 1984
    He was elected to 8th Lok Sabha from Sivaganga.
  • 1976
    He was elected General-Secretary, Pradesh Congress Committee (P.C.C.), Tamil Nadu.
  • 1973
    He was a member, All India Congress Committee (A.I.C.C.)
  • 1972
    He was a member, All India Congress Committee (A.I.C.C.)
Net Worth17.99 CRORE

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.

Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X