• search


Mayawati is the former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, who played the role in four different terms since 1995. Currently, she serves as the President of the Bahujan Samaj Party since 2003.


One of the most redoubtable leaders this country has churned out from its inordinate political belt, Mayawati made history when she became the first ever Dalit woman in India to serve as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. She's served four terms as Chief Minister resigning in 2012 after suffering a devastating blow in the assembly elections. She is also the national president of BSP. A former teacher by vocation, her foray into politics began when she was approached by BSP founder Kashi Ram. He ingratiated her into politics and in 1995 ceded his leadership to Mayawati. Touted as the best Chief Minister, Mayawati is lauded with praises for efficient governance and promoting law and order. Her first and second act as Chief Minister came to an abrupt end, merely serving months in office before she was forced to tender in her resignation. Her third term lasted a year and she served a full fourth term in office. During this time her government began a major crackdown on irregularities in the recruitment process of police officers recruited during the previous Mulayam Singh government. She won her first Lok Sabha election in 1989 from Bijnor constituency. She was elected to Rajya Sabha in 1994. She went on to serve three more terms in Lok Sabha from Akbarpur constituency in 1998-2004. In 2014, Mayawati's party was decimated by BJP in the general elections, where BSP failed to retain even a single seat in the state. However, recent developments indicate her slowly but surely digging her way out of the political grave. Her alliance with SP and winning the mayoral seats from Aligarh and Meerut are perhaps signs of changing tides.

Personal Life

Full Name Mayawati
Date of Birth 15 Jan 1956 (Age 67)
Place of Birth Delhi
Party name Bahujan Samaj Party
Profession Social Worker Advocate
Father's Name Shri Prabhu Das
Mother's Name Smt. Ram Rati
Religion Hindu


Permanent address Kothi No. 13A, Mall Avenue, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
Present address C-1/11, Humayun Road, New Delhi - 110011
Contact number (011) 3792735, 4610018, 4610016
Email NA

Education Qualification of Mayawati

Mayawati did her B.A. degree from the Kalindi College, University of Delhi. Later, she pursued her LL.B. degree from the prestigious Faculty of Law, University of Delhi. Thereafter, Mayawati also completed her B.Ed. course from Meerut University, Ghaziabad.

Interesting Facts about Mayawati

Mayawati's BSP won a majority in the 2007 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections. In 2009 the BSP won 20 seats in Lok Sabha from the state of Uttar Pradesh. They gained the highest percentage (27.42%) of votes for any political party in the state.

Mayawati has morphed into a messiah for the Dalit community. Millions of Dalit supporters view her as an icon and refer to her as "Behen-ji" (sister).

On 15 December 2001, Dalit leader Kanshi Ram at a rally declared that Mayawati will be his political successor and the sole heir of his as well as of the Bahujan Movement.

Political Timeline of Mayawati

  • 2018
    Mayawati resigned from Rajya Sabha on April 2nd,2018.
  • 2017
    Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party again failed in Assembly Elections. Party won just 19 out of 403 seats.
  • 2014
    Mayawati opened all her horses to win a maximum number of Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, but she ended up with a big Zero in Loksabha Elections 2014.
  • 2012
    Immediately after she lost Uttar Pradesh, she was elected to Rajyasabha on April 3rd, 2012.
  • 2012
    She did not contest Assembly elections in 2014. Also, her party also lost against Samajwadi Party. She rendered in her resignation as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.
  • 2007
    In 2007 assembly elections Mayawati lost against RA Usmani of Samajwadi Party from Srinagar seat. But BSP got the majority and Mayawati again became Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. She served this post till 15 March 2012.
  • 2004
    In July 2004, she was elected to Rajya Sabha (second term). She served as Rajyasabha MP till 5 July 2007.
  • 2004
    She won her fourth term as the MP in Akbarpur by a margin of 58,269 votes. But she resigned from Loksabha on 5th July 2004.
  • 2002
    3 May 2002 to 29 August 2003: She served her third short term as Chief Minister.
  • 1999
    She retained her seat in Akbarpur by defeating Ram Piyare Suman with a winning margin of 53,386 votes.
  • 1998
    She won her second term from Akbarpur constituency where she defeated Dr, Lalta Prasad Kannoujiya of SP by a margin of 25,179 votes.
  • 1997
    She served her second short term (21 March to 20 Sept) as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.
  • 1996
    She was the MLA of Uttar Pradesh from 1996-1998 of Harora constituency where she won with a margin of 2515 votes.
  • 1995
    She was appointed the head of her party and she briefly succeeded the office of Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. She served this post from 3 June to 18 Oct 995.
  • 1994
    She was elected in Rajya Sabha.
  • 1989
    She contested and won her first Lok Sabha election from Bijnor constituency where she defeated Mangal Ram Premi of JD by a margin of 8879 votes.
  • 1984
    Mayawati Joined BSP and became a follower of Kansiram.

Mayawati Early Life

  • 1977
    Mayawati completed B.Ed. from Meerut University's VMLG College, Ghaziabad, in 1976. She worked as a Teacher, Delhi Administration from 1977-1984.


Mayawati's career has been called a "miracle of democracy" by former Prime Minister of India P. V. Narasimha Rao. Hailing from impoverished circumstances, in the course of her remarkable life, she's morphed into a formidable force to be reckoned with in the realm of politics and one of the most influential politicians this country has spawned. In 2008, Forbes added Mayawati in the 59th place on its list of the 100 most powerful women in the world.
Net Worth110.77 CRORE
Liabilities87.69 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.

Election results of Mayawati

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs on Mayawati)

Does Mayawati have criminal cases?

No, Mayawati has no criminal cases.

How old is Mayawati?

Mayawati is 66 years old (As of 2022).

What is Mayawati's height?

Mayawati's height is approx. 5'2".

Is Mayawati married?

No, Mayawati's relationship status is Unmarried.

Who is the current President of the Bahujan Samaj Party?

Mayawati is the current President of the Bahujan Samaj Party since 2003.

What is Mayawati's qualification?

Mayawati holds LL. B degree from the University of Delhi and B.Ed. degree from Meerut University.

From which party does Mayawati belong to?

Mayawati belongs to the Bahujan Samaj Party.

Is Mayawati the former Chief Minister of UP?

Yes, Mayawati is the former Chief Minister of UP.

Who is Mayawati?

Mayawati is the former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh and the current President of the Bahujan Samaj Party since 2003.

Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X