• search
Oommen Chandy

Oommen Chandy


Oommen Chandy is a senior leader of the Indian National Congress, and the former Chief Minister of Kerala. He has been the Leader of Opposition in the Kerala assembly. Oommen Chandy was born in Kumarakom in Kerala's Kottayam district. He completed his schooling from St George high School in Puthuppally, after which he attended CMS College in Kottayam and St Berchmans College in Changanassery. He also earned an LLB degree from Government Law College, Ernakulam. He had started his political life with the Kerala Students Union, before making his way to the top as a CM. Before being elected as CM, he held important portfolios in the state like Finance, Home and Labor.

Personal Life

Full Name Oommen Chandy
Date of Birth 31 Oct 1943 (Age 76)
Place of Birth Kumarakom
Party name Indian National Congress
Education Graduate Professional
Profession Politician
Father's Name KO Chandy
Mother's Name Baby Chandy
Spouse's Name Mariamma Oommen
Spouse's Profession Retired Bank Employee
No of Sons 1
No of Daughters 2


Permanent address Karottuvallakkalil House, Puthuppally Po.
Present address Karottuvallakkalil House, Puthuppally Po.
Contact number 0481-2351135
Email oc@oommenchandy.net
Website oommenchandy.net
Social Handles

Interesting Facts

Oommen Chandy was awarded the United Nations Public Service Award in 2013 for "Preventing and Combating Corruption in the Public Service" in the Asia-Pacific region. He received the award in Bahrain from Wu Hongbo, then UN Under Secretary General for Economic and Social Affairs.

Political Timeline

  • 2016
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly from Puthuppally, beating Jaik C Thomas.
  • 2011
    Elected the Chief Minister after winning from the Puthuppally constituency for the tenth time, beating Suja Susan George.
  • 2006
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly for the ninth time, beating Sindhu Joy.
  • 2006
    Became the Leader of Opposition in Kerala Assembly.
  • 2004
    Became the Chief Minister of Kerala for the first time after AK Antony resigned due to poor results in Parliamentary elections.
  • 2001
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly for the eighth time, defeating Cherian Philip.
  • 1996
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly for seventh time, defeating Reji Zacharia.
  • 1991
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly for the sixth time, defeating VN Vasavan.
  • 1991
    Was made in charge of the Finance portfolio in the state.
  • 1987
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly for the fifth time, beating VN Vasavan.
  • 1982
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly for fourth time, beating Thomas Rajan.
  • 1982
    Was made in charge of the Home portfolio in the state.
  • 1980
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly for third time, beating MRG Panicker.
  • 1977
    Elected to the Kerala Assembly for the second time, beating PC Cherian.
  • 1977
    Became Minister for Labor in Kerala.
  • 1970
    Elected President of State Youth Congress in Kerala.
  • 1970
    Elected to the Kerala Legislative Assembly from Puthuppally, beating EM George.
  • 1967
    Elected President of Kerala Students Union.
Net Worth1.01 CRORE
Liabilities23.39 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more