• search
Mehbooba Mufti

Mehbooba Mufti


Mehbooba Mufti made her debut in politics by winning the assembly elections in 1996. She served two consecutive terms as MLA of Kashmir before she was elected to the lower house of Parliament from Anantnag constituency in 2004. She was re-elected in 2014 as the MP of Anantnag, the position she retained until she tendered in her resignation in 2016, to assume the position of Chief Minister of Kashmir. She took her oath and became the first woman Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir in 2016 with the support of BJP. She served in office for two years and tendered in her resignation following the withdrawal of BJP's support and the untimely collapse of the coalition government in Kashmir.

Personal Life

Full Name Mehbooba Mufti
Date of Birth 22 May 1969 (Age 50)
Place of Birth Akhran Nowpora, Distt. Anantnag (Jammu & Kashmir)
Party name Jammu & Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party
Education Graduate Professional
Profession Social Worker
Father's Name Shri Mufti Mohd. Sayeed
Mother's Name Smt. Gulshan Nazir
No of Daughters 2


Permanent address Fair View Gupkar Road, Srinagar- 3, Anantnag
Present address Jammu & Kashmir House, Prithviraj Road, New Delhi-110 003
Contact number 9906600786
Email NA

Interesting Facts

On 4 April 2016, Mufti took the oath and became the first woman Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir. She resigned on June 19, 2018, after BJP withdrew support from the coalition government in Kashmir.

Political Timeline

  • 2014
    She was re-elected from Anantnag in 16th Lok Sabha elections as a PDP candidate where she defeated Mirza Mehboob Beg of JKN.
  • 2004
    Mufti contested and won 14th Lok Sabha elections from Anantnag as a JKPDP candidate and defeated of JKN by a margin of 39,938 votes.
  • 2002
    She was re-elected to serve as the MLA of Pahalgam as a PDP candidate where she defeated Rafi Ah. Mir of JKN by a low margin of 2139 votes.
  • 1999
    She contested and lost in the parliamentary elections from Srinagar to Omar Abdullah by a margin of 35,000 votes.
  • 1996
    She was elected as the Member of Legislative Assembly from Bihbehara in Jammu and Kashmir as an INC candidate where she defeated Abdul Gani Shah of JKN by a margin of 2271 votes.
Net Worth52 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more