• search
Dr.Murli Manohar Joshi

Dr.Murli Manohar Joshi


Murli Manohar Joshi of BJP is the incumbent MP of Kanpur constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He became entrenched in politics by first taking part in the Cow Protection Movement in the Kumbh Kisan Andolan of UP in 1955, and demanded to halve the land revenue assessment. He was prosecuted in 1975 during the Emergency period in India. He was first elected in the 6th Lok Sabha elections in 1977. He's served as an MP of Lok Sabha for seven terms. He's won seven non-consecutive elections Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh since 1977-2014. He presently serves as the MP of Kanpur constituency. He was also a professor of Physics at Allahabad University.

Personal Life

Full Name Dr.Murli Manohar Joshi
Date of Birth 05 Jan 1934 (Age 87)
Place of Birth Delhi
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Education Doctorate
Profession Professor (Retd.)
Father's Name Late Shri Man Mohan Joshi
Mother's Name Late Smt. Chandrawati Joshi
Spouse's Name Smt. Tarla Joshi
Spouse's Profession Housewife
Children 2 Daughter(s)


Permanent address R/o No.6, Raishin Road, ND-110001
Contact number 23718444
Email murli@sansad.nic.in
Social Handles

Interesting Facts

Joshi was the Union Human Resources Development minister in the National Democratic Alliance government. In 2015, Sting operators Cobrapost accused Murli Manohar Joshi and C. P. Thakur alongside former Prime Minister and Congress leader Chandra Shekhar of perpetrating Bihar Dalit massacres with Ranvir Sena.

Political Timeline

  • 2014
    He won the 16th Lok Sabha elections by a margin of 222946 votes by defeating Sriprakash Jaiswal of INC.
  • 2009
    He contested in the 15th Lok Sabha elections from Varanasi and won by defeating Mukhtar Ansari of INC by a margin of 17211 votes.
  • 2004
    Joshi was re-elected to serve a second term in Rajya Sabha.
  • 1999
    He won his fourth term in Lok Sabha from Allahabad constituency by defeating Kunwar Rewati Raman Singh by a margin of 70,331 votes.
  • 1998
    He was re-elected in the Allahabad constituency by defeating Shyama Charan of SP by a margin of 33,290 votes.
  • 1996
    He was elected to the 11th Lok Sabha from Allahabad constituency by defeating Saroj Dubey of JD by a margin of 1,03,523 votes.
  • 1992
    He was elected to Rajya Sabha
  • 1980
    He was the Founder General Secretary, B.J.P.
  • 1977
    Joshi was elected to 6th Lok Sabha from Almora constituency bt defeating Narendra Singh Bisht of INC by a margin of 87,476 votes. He was appointed the General-Secretary, Janata Party in Parliament.
Net Worth7.84 CRORE

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X