• search
Tarkishore Prasad

Tarkishore Prasad


An Indian politician, Tarkishore Prasad draws his political roots from the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). Born in an OBC community of Bihar, Mr Prasad did his schooling from the government school and then joined Darshan Shah College, Katihar for a brief period from where he earned Intermediate of Science degree.
From the branches of RSS, he ventured into student politics as ABVP leader and had an association with Bharteey Janta Party from an early age. He won his first election as the member of Bihar legislative assembly in 2005 and then never looked back ever since. Tarkishore Prasad is known for his goodwill in all sects of the party and beyond. Winning 4 MLA elections successively, he was crowned as the deputy chief minister in Nitish Kumar led NDA govenment in the state in 2020, replacing his party colleague and BJP heavyweight Sushil Modi.

Personal Life

Full Name Tarkishore Prasad
Date of Birth 05 Jan 1956 (Age 67)
Place of Birth Saharsa
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Education I.Sc.
Profession Agriculture, Business
Father's Name Ganga Prasad Bhagat
Mother's Name Sumitra Devi
Spouse's Name Renu Prasad
Spouse's Profession Home Maker
Children 1 Son(s)
Religion Hindu
Caste Baniya


Permanent address R/O.-Mircharwari, PO.-Katihar, District-Katihar, Pin-854109
Present address R/O.-Mircharwari, PO.-Katihar, District-Katihar, Pin-854109
Contact number 9431814944, 7004511500, 06452231944
Email tarkishorep@gmail.com
Social Handles

Interesting Facts about Tarkishore Prasad

1. He has been active in BJP since its inception in 1984.
2. He won his first election as MLA in 2005 by a margin of 165 votes only.
3. He is the first time minister in Nitish Kumar led Bihar state government.
4. Before taking the charge of Deputy Chief Minister, he was never inducted in the cabinet of any government.

Political Timeline of Tarkishore Prasad

  • 2022
    Tarkishore Prasad had to step down as the deputy chief minister of Bihar on 11 August 2022 as the government collapsed after Nitish Kumar broke-off with NDA and joined the grand alliance with RJD.
  • 2020
    He won the MLA election from the same Katihar seat of Bihar for the fourth time successively and got crowned as one of the two Deputy Chief Minister in Nitish Kumar led state government of Bihar. As a cabinet minister he takes charge of finance, taxation, environment, forest and information technology.
  • 2015
    Mr. Prasad was among the few BJP leaders to win an election against the then grand alliance of JDU, RJD and Congress.
  • 2010
    Won again from the Katihar assembly constituency of Bihar.
  • 2005
    Won his first election as an MLA from Katihar constituency of Bihar by defeating Ram Prakash Mahato of RJD by margin of 165 votes only.
  • 1984
    Joined BJP
  • 1974
    Tarkishore Prasad started his political career as a student leader with ABVP.

Tarkishore Prasad Early Life

  • 1974
    He passed intermediate from Darshan Sah College, Katihar and started his political journey.
  • 1956
    Tarkishore Prasad Bhagat was born to Ganga Prasad Bhagat and Sumitra Devi in Saharsa Bihar.


Deputy Chief Minister, Bihar
Net Worth1.88 CRORE
Liabilities1.88 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.

Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X