• search
Inderjit Singh

Inderjit Singh


Inderjit Singh Rao is the MP of Gurgaon in Haryana and the Minister of State in the Government of India. He contested and also won few assemblies and parliamentary elections under the INC's stewardship. However, in 2014, a Month before the 2014 general elections, he quit INC and formed an alliance with BJP and won the Gurgaon eat in the 16th Lok Sabha elections.

Personal Life

Full Name Inderjit Singh
Date of Birth 11 Feb 1950 (Age 69)
Place of Birth Rewari (Haryana)
Party name Indian National Congress
Education Graduate Professional
Profession Political and Social Worker Agriculturist, Advocate
Father's Name Late Rao Birender Singh
Mother's Name Rani Chandra Prabha
Spouse's Name Smt. Manita Singh
Spouse's Profession Housewife
No of Daughters 2


Permanent address Vill. & Post Office Rampura Dist., Rewari
Present address 6, Lodhi Estate, New Delhi - 110 003
Contact number 09871100010
Email mpgurgaon@gmail.com

Interesting Facts

Rao Inderjit Singh was a member of the Indian shooting Team from 1990 to 2003 and won a Bronze Medal at the Commonwealth Shooting Championship.

Political Timeline

  • 2019
    He contested and woon the Gurgaon Parliamentary constituency and defeated nearest Congress rival Ajay Singh Yadav, a former six-time MLA from Rewari, by a margin of 3,86,256 votes.
  • 2019
    He was appointed the Minister of State (independent charge) of ministry of labour and employment.
  • 2014
    Rao again Thwarted Zakir Hussain's bid to the Gurgaon seat as a BJP candidate and retained it in the 16th Lok Sabha elections by a margin of 2,60,000 votes. From 2014-2017 he served as a Cabinet Minister in the NDA government.
  • 2009
    He contested and won 15th Lok Sabha elections from Gurgaon where he defeated Zakir Hussain of BSP. He resigned on April 2014, severed his ties with the INC and joined BJP.
  • 2004
    Rao contested and won the 14th Lok Sabha elections from Mahendragarh where he defeated his rival Sudha Yadav by a margin of 2,10,341 votes.
  • 1998
    He was elected to 12th Lok Sabha elections from Mahendragarh in Haryana where he defeated Ram Singh of BJP by a margin of 68,1336 votes. He lost the 13th Lok Sabha elections to Sudha Yadav of BJP.
  • 1991
    Despite the previous loss, Rao contested and won the 1991 assembly elections where he defeated Jagdish Yadav of HVP by a margin of 15,226 votes. He lost the 1996 assembly elections to Jagdish Yadav.
  • 1991
    Rao was inducted into the Cabinet as Minister, Environment & Forests and Medical & Technical Education, in the Government of Haryana.
  • 1986
    Rao was elected Minister of State (Independent Charge), Food and Civil Supplies, in the Govt. of Haryana
  • 1982
    He contested and won the assembly elections from Jatusana as an INC candidate by a margin of 11,082 votes. He lost the following elections to Narbir Singh of LKD by a margin of 9225 votes.
  • 1977
    He won his first assembly elections from Jatusana in Haryana as a VHP candidate where he defeated Rai Singh of JNP by a margin of 5299 votes.
Net Worth25.07 CRORE

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more