• search
Raj Kumar Singh

Raj Kumar Singh


R. K. Singh is a native of Supaul district in Bihar. He was the district magistrate in East Champaran and Patna in the 1980s before joining the state home department in 1997. During the Nitish Kumar government's term from 2004–2009, Singh, as principal secretary in the road construction department, played an important role in improving the condition of roads in Bihar. In the National Democratic Alliance-led government, the then Home Minister, Advani, selected Singh to work as joint secretary in the Home Ministry for five years from 1999 to 2004. In 2019, He contested and won the Arrah parliamentary constituency with a margin of over 5,00000 votes.

Personal Life

Full Name Raj Kumar Singh
Date of Birth 20 Dec 1952 (Age 69)
Place of Birth Supaul (Bihar)
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Education Graduate Professional
Profession Civil ServantLawyer
Father's Name Shri Haldhar Prasad Singh
Mother's Name Smt. Chandrakala Devi
Spouse's Name Smt. Shiela Singh
Children 1 Son(s) 1 Daughter(s)


Permanent address Flat No- 903, Mani Orchid Appartment,Near R.P.S. Mor, Bailey Road,Patna, Bihar - 801503
Present address 3, Talkatora Road,New Delhi -110 001
Contact number (011) 23712381, (06182) 22484440
Email rajkumar.singh19@sansad.nic.in

Interesting Facts

He has a special interest in Internal Security and Defence

Political Timeline

  • 2021
    R K Singh was elevated to the cabinet rank and appointed as the Minister of Power.
  • 2019
    He was appointed MoS (independent charge) of the ministry of power; MoS (independent charge) of the ministry of new and renewable energy and Ministry of skill and entrepreneur development.
  • 2019
    He contested and won the Arrah parliamentary constituency with a margin of over 5,00000 votes.
  • 2017
    He was the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) and Ministry of Power and Ministry of New and Renewable Energy.
  • 2016
    He was the Member of Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice.
  • 2015
    He was the Member of India China Parliamentary Friendship Group.
  • 2015
    He was the Member of The Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) Standing Committee on International Peace and Security.
  • 2015
    He was the member of Jonit Committee on Security in Parliament House Complex.
  • 2014
    He was the member of National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR).
  • 2014
    He was the member of Committee on Violation of Protocol Norms and Contemptuous Behaviour of Government Officers with Members of Lok Sabha.
  • 2014
    He was the member of Consultative Committee under the Ministry of Defence.
  • 2014
    He was the member of Standing Committee on Health and Family Welfare.
  • 2014
    He was the member of Committee of Privileges.
  • 2014
    Raj Kumar Singh was elected to 16th Lok Sabha from Arrah constituency. He defeated Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha of RJD with the marjin of 255,204 votes.


He was the District Magistrate of East Champaran from 1981 to 1983. He was also the District Magistrate of Patna from 1983 to 1985. He was the Director and Joint Secretary under the Ministry of Defence in 1991 to 1996. He was the Home Secretary under Govt. of Bihar from 1997 to 1999. He was Joint Secretary under Ministry of Home Affairs in Govt. of India from 2000 to 2005. He was the Principal Secretary for Road Construction Department under Govt. of Bihar from 2006 to 2009. He worked as the Secretary Production under the Govt. Of India from 2009 to 2011. He also worked as the Union Home Secretary from 2011 to June. He Joined the IPS in 1974 and the IAS in 1975. He worked in the Department of Defence Production in 2009. As Secretary, Defence Production from 2009 to 2011, he ensured that the production from Ordance Factories, Defence Shipyards, the Hindustan Aeronautics Limited and other Defence Manufacturing facilities touched record levels.
Net Worth4.84 CRORE

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X