• search
Rama Devi

Rama Devi


Rama Devi is a politician from Bihar and belongs to Bhartiya Janata Party. Rama Devi pursued her Law degree while residing in Muzaffarpur. She was the member of 12th Lok Sabha from Bihar during 1998-1999 from Motihari on RJD ticket. She was first elected for 14th Lok Sabha in 2009 on the BJP ticket. She was also elected for the second time to Lok Sabha (15th) in 2014 from Sheohar (Lok Sabha constituency).

Personal Life

Full Name Rama Devi
Date of Birth 08 Aug 1948 (Age 71)
Place of Birth Lalganj, Distt. Vaishali (Bihar)
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Education Graduate Professional
Profession Agriculturist, Social Worker
Father's Name Kailash Prasad Chaudhary
Mother's Name Smt. Dharbharan Devi
Spouse's Name Late Engg. Braj Bihari Prasad
No of Sons 2
No of Daughters 3


Permanent address Rama Braj Bhawan, Brahmapura, KrishnaToli,Rama Braj Bihari Gali,Muzaffarpur-842003, BiharTelefax : (0621)2260164, 09431240750 (M)
Present address 30-A, Atul Grove Road,New Delhi - 110 001Telefax : (011) 23354241, 9013180124 (M)
Contact number 06252-290378
Email rama.devi19@sansad.nic.in

Interesting Facts

Upliftment of the poor women and encouraging them for participating in politics, studying books

Political Timeline

  • 2014
    Rama Devi again contested from Sheohar and elected to 16th Loksabha. This time she defeated Md Anwarul Haque of RJD.
  • 2009
    After joining BJP she again contested Lok Sabha Elections and won. But this time she was elected from Sheohar. She defeated Md. Anwarul Haque of BSP.
  • 1998-99 and 1999-2000
    Member, Committee on Estimates
  • 1998
    Rama Devi was elected to 12th Lok Sabha from Motihari constituency as RJD MP. She defeated Radha Mohan Singh of BJP.
  • 1 Sep. 2014
    She was appointed as - Member, Committee on Empowerment of Women; Member, Standing Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas; Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Textiles; Member, Joint Committee on Food Management in Parliament House Complex.
  • 31 Aug. 2009
    She became- Member, Standing Committee on Social Justice and Empowerment; Member, Committee on Empowerment of Women; Member, Consultative Committee , Ministry of Human Resource Development.
  • 2000-2005
    In Bihar assembly elections 2000, she contested from Motihari and elected as RJD MLA in Bihar Legislative Assembly. She defeated Pramod Kumar of BJP.
  • 2000-2005
    In her tenure as MLA, she served as a Cabinet Minister, Public Health & Engineering Department, Govt. of Bihar.
  • 1998-99
    Member, Committee on Commerce and its Sub-Committee on Textiles; Member, Joint Committee on the Empowerment of Women and its Sub-Committee on Education and Health Programmes for Women; Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment.
Net Worth30.86 CRORE

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more