• search
Ram Kripal Yadav

Ram Kripal Yadav


For three decades Ram Kripal Yadav strengthened his political ties under the patronage of RJD leader, Lalu Prasad Yadav. He contested the elections from Patna and retained the seat or three terms. Due to certain internal skirmishes within his party(RJD), he decided to sever ties and contest the elections with a BJP ticket in 2014. He defeated Misha Bharti-- the daughter of Lalu Prasad Yadav-- in the 16th Lok Sabha elections from Pataliputra which was formerly known as Patna.

Personal Life

Full Name Ram Kripal Yadav
Date of Birth 12 Oct 1957 (Age 62)
Place of Birth Goriatoli, Distt. Patna (Bihar)
Party name Rashtriya Janata Dal
Education Graduate
Profession Agriculturist
Father's Name Late Shri Kishori Prasad
Mother's Name ?Late Shrimati Sudha Devi
Spouse's Name Smt. Kiran Devi
Spouse's Profession Housewife
No of Sons 2
No of Daughters 1


Permanent address Goriya Toli, Station Road, Po-GPO-Patna 800001
Present address 18, Mother Teresa Crescent, New Delhi-110 001
Contact number 06122220729 09431800966
Email ramkripalyadav2014@gmail.com

Interesting Facts

In 1990, Kripal grew under the patronage of Lalu Prasad Yadav the then Chief Minister of Bihar. Ram Kripal Yadav was unfaltering in his support for the RJD leader Lalu Prasad Yadav. However, he quit RJD and joined BJP in 2014.

Political Timeline

  • 2019
    He contested and won 2019 Lok Sabha polls from Pataliputra, where he defeated RJD candidate Misa Bharti by a margin of over 25,000 votes.
  • 2016
    He's the Union Minister of State, Ministry of Rural Development.
  • 2014
    He contested the 16th Lok Sabha election as a BJP candidate from Pataliputra and defeated Misha Bharti-- the daughter of Lalu Prasad Yadav-- by a margin of 40,322 votes.
  • 2010
    He was elected to Rajya Sabha for one term.
  • 2004
    After facing two consecutive losses in Patna he regained the seat in 14th Lok Sabha elections and defeated his rival C.P Thakur by a margin of 38,562 votes.
  • 1998
    He lost the Patna seat to C.P Thakur of BJP who won by a margin of 52,606 votes. He lost the following elections again to C. P Thakur in 1999.
  • 1996
    He retained the seat and defeated S.N.Arya of BJP.
  • 1993
    He was elected in 10th Lok Sabha in a by-election with a JD ticket in Patna constituency In Bihar.
  • 1992
    He served as the Member, Bihar Legislative Council from 1992-1993
  • 1985
    Yadav was the Deputy Mayor, Municipal Corporation, Patna.
Net Worth1.19 CRORE
Liabilities21 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more