• search
Kunduru Jana Reddy

Kunduru Jana Reddy


Kunduru Jana Reddy is former Minister for Panchayat Raj & Rural Water Supply in the State of Andhra Pradesh. He represent Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly Constituency of Nalgonda District. After completing his studies, initially, Kunduru started working in the field of agriculture, but very soon he joined Telugu Desam Party and became active in politics. He is known for his wide experience of around 30 years in state politics, administration and excellent track record. He entered Politics through JPs Total Revolution in 1974 and joined Janta Party. Then he joined Telugu Desam Party. In 1989, he resigned from TDP and joined Congress Party. His act was to show his anger against the Government style of functioning and policies of NTR. He had been elected to assembly for 7 times.

Personal Life

Full Name Kunduru Jana Reddy
Date of Birth 20 Jun 1946 (Age 75)
Place of Birth Nagarjuna Sagar, Nalgonda
Party name Indian National Congress
Education 12th Pass
Profession Agriculture, Social Work
Father's Name Kunduru Veera Reddy
Mother's Name N/A
Spouse's Name Sumathi
Spouse's Profession N/A
Children 2 Son(s)


Permanent address H. No.8-2-293/82 JIII/564-A-38,Road No.92(Via Road No.12,BanjaraHills), Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad 500033
Present address H. No.8-2-293/82 JIII/564-A-38,Road No.92(Via Road No.12,BanjaraHills), Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad 500033
Contact number 040-23551360 , 040-23551331 , 040-23551332

Interesting Facts

Jana Reddy resigned from the Telugu Desam Party after having differences with N.T.Rama Rao on expelling 30 cabinet ministers in 1988. After resignation he, founded his own political party - Telugumahanadu, which eventually merged with Congress Party.

Political Timeline

  • 2018
    K Jana Reddy is contesting from Nagarjuna Sagar in 2018 assembly elections.
  • 2014
    After the separation of Telangana, again he successfully contested from Nagarjuna Sagar. On 13 June 2014, he was elected as Leader of Opposition in Telangana Legislative Assembly.
  • 2010
    From December, 2010 to February 2014, he served in as Cabinet Minister for Panchayat Raj & Rural Water Supply.
  • 2009
    He contested from the Nagarjuna Sagar seat and defeated Tera Chinnapa Reddy of Congress Party.
  • 2004
    He again elected as MLA from Chalakurthy assembly constituency and was inducted as Cabinet Minister. He held the portfolios like- Home, Jails, Fire Services, Sainik Welfare, Priniting & Stationery and Housing & Weaker Section Housing Programme and A.P. Housing Board till 2009.
  • 1999
    In very next assembly elections, Reddy dethroned G Ramamurthy from Chalakurthy seat and became MLA.
  • 1994
    He contested assembly election on Congress ticket, but lost against G Ramamurthy of TDP.
  • 1989
    Resigned to the membership of TDP and Assembly in March, 1989 in protest against the Government style of functioning and policies of NTR. Immediately he joined Congress Party. He successfully fought the assembly election on Congress ticket and became MLA. He served as Cabinet Minister for Agriculture and Horticulture from 1992 to 1994.
  • 1985
    He was re-elected to the same constituency. He was inducted in Cabinet Minister in Successive TDP Governments. As a Cabinet Minister he held the portfolios such Agriculture (Horticulture, Sericulture, Sugar), Agriculture University (Horticulture & Veterinary), Co-operation, Forests, Marketing & Warehousing, Fisheries, Animal Husbandary, Command Area Development, Transport, Roads and Buildings, Ports and Panchayat Raj & Rural Development in Successive TDP Governments till 1989.
  • 1983
    Elected as independent MLA of A.P. from Chalakurthy Constituency. Later he joined TDP.
  • 1981
    Reddy was elected as President, Peddavoora Panchayat Samithi.
  • 1978
    He contested his first assembly election as Janta Party candidate from Chalakurthy seat of Andhra Pradesh and lost against Congress leader Ramulu Nimmala.
  • 1974
    Kunduru Jana Reddy entered Politics through JPs Total Revolution. He organised local youth for constructive activities.
Net Worth16.19 CRORE

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X