• search



Nihal Chand is an Indian politician belonging to the Bharatiya Janata Party. He has been elected as a Member of Parliament four times from the Ganganagar constituency. He is also known as Nihalchand Chauhan and Nihalchand Meghwal.

Personal Life

Full Name Nihalchand
Date of Birth 04 Feb 1971 (Age 48)
Place of Birth Bajuwala, Distt. Ganganagar (Rajasthan)
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Education Graduate
Profession Agriculturist, Social Worker
Father's Name Shri Bega Ram Chauhan
Mother's Name Smt. Surji Devi
Spouse's Name Smt. Jyoti Chauhan
No of Sons 1
No of Daughters 1


Permanent address Vill and P.O. Bajuwala,Teh. Rai Singh Nagar,Distt. Sri Ganganagar - 335051,RajasthanTel : (01507) 221317, 09414090050 (M)
Present address 11, Pt. Ravi Shankar Shukla Lane,(Canning Lane),New Delhi - 110001Tel : (011) 23782561, 2378256209414090050, 09971127226 (M)
Contact number 01507221317
Email nihalchand@gmail.com

Interesting Facts

He is keenly interested in making contribution in the field of development of community assets and infrastructural development of villages. Worked towards development of roads and sanitation.

Political Timeline

  • 2014
    He was re-elected to the 16th Lok Sabha for 4th term from Ganganagar constituency by defeating Master Bhanwarlal Meghwal of INC party.
  • 1999
    He was re-elected to the 13th Lok Sabha for a 2nd term from Ganganagar constituency by beating Er. Shankar Pannu of INC party.
  • 1998
    He was a member of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
  • 1995-96
    Nihalchand was appointed as the Pradhan, Panchayat Samiti, Rai Singh Nagar
  • 9 Nov. 2014 - 5 July 2016
    Minister of State in the Ministry of Panchayati Raj
  • 5 Aug. 2007
    Member, Standing Committee on Health and Family Welfare
  • 27 May 2014 - 9 Nov. 2014
    Minister of State in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
  • 2004
    He was re-elected to the 14th Lok Sabha for a 3rd term from Ganganagar constituency by defeating Bharatram of INC party.
  • 2004
    Member, Committee on Private Members`s Bills and Resolutions
  • 2004
    Member, Standing Committee on Agirculture
  • 2000-2004
    Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Defence
  • 1999-2000
    Member, Standing Committee on Science and Technology, Environment and Forests
  • 1996
    He was elected to the 11th Lok Sabha by defeating Birbal Ram of INC party from Ganganagar constituency, Rajasthan.
  • 1 Sep. 2016
    Member, Standing Committee on Human Resource Development
Net Worth92.5 LAKHS
Liabilities16.12 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more