• search
Vaghela Liladharbhai Khodaji

Vaghela Liladharbhai Khodaji


Liladhar Vaghela is a Member of Parliament or Lok Sabha from Patan constituency in Gujarat. He was born at Pimpal in Chanasma taluka of Mahesana district and has a B.A, B.ed degree. He started his career in agriculture, social work and journalism. He is founder Editor of Banas Sandesh weekly for last 25 years. Liladhar Vaghela was in Congress party in past, and he was a minister in late Chimanbhai Patel ministry. He came to limelight when he contested Lok Sabha election against the then-heavyweight Congress leader Shankersinh Vaghela in 2004. Though he was from north Gujarat, he was chosen by Modi to contest for the election of central Gujarat’s Kapadvanj against locally experienced candidate Shankarsinh, because he was from Thakor community but he lost the election.

Personal Life

Full Name Vaghela Liladharbhai Khodaji
Date of Birth 17 Feb 1935 (Age 87)
Place of Birth Pimpal, Patan, Gujarat
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Education Graduate Professional
Profession Farmer Teacher
Father's Name Shri Khodaji M. Vaghela
Mother's Name Smt. Revaba K Vaghela
Spouse's Name NA
Children 5 Son(s)


Permanent address Plot No. 744, Panchshil Park Society,Sector-21,Gandhinagar-382021, GujaratTelefax : (079) 2322921109013869114, 09825336777 (M)
Present address 804, Narmada Apartment,Dr. B. D. Marg,New Delhi-110 00109013869114 (M)
Contact number 9825336777
Email vaghela.liladharbhai@gmail.com

Interesting Facts about Vaghela Liladharbhai Khodaji

Sports; Travelling; Reading
He is founder Editor of Banas Sandesh weekly for last 25 years.

Political Timeline of Vaghela Liladharbhai Khodaji

  • 2015
    He became Member, Railway Convention Committee (R.C.C.).
  • 2014
    He became Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Rural Development, Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water and Sanitation; Member, Standing Committee on Water Resources.
  • 2014
    Elected to 16th Lok Sabha from Patan Parliament constituency. He defeated Rathod Bhavsinhbhai Dahyabhai of Congress.
  • 2012
    He was re-elected to Assembly and became State Minister for Animal Husbandry, Fisheries and SEBC Welfare, Govt. of Gujarat, till 2014. Minister of State for AH, Fisheries, Cow Breeding, SEBC Welfare, 2012-2013. Minister of State for SEBC Welfare 2013-2014.
  • 2007
    Liladhar moved again to Deesa constituency and fought an election as BJP candidate and won. He defeated Rabari Govabhai Hamirabhai of INC. He served as State Minister for Labour & Employment, Govt. of Gujarat from 2010 to 2012.
  • 2002
    He lost assembly election against an independent candidate Patel Bhemabhai Ramsingbhai in Deodhar Constituency. Later he joined Bhartiya Janta Party.
  • 1998
    Liladharbhai again won the assembly election. This time from Deodhar. He defeated Congress candidate Shah Sureshbhai Laherchandbhai. He served as Minister of Rural Development, 1999-2001. He became State Minister (Independent Charge) for Consumer Affairs and Prison, Govt. of Gujarat till 2001. And State Minister for Agriculture & Jail, Govt. of Gujarat from 2001 to 2002.
  • 1995
    In 1995 Assembly elections, BJP candidate Mali Gordhanji Gigaji defeated Vaghela Liladharbhai in his own house. After this defeat, he moved back to Deodar constituency.
  • 1990
    Re-elected to Gujarat assembly from Deesa this time he defeated Jani Hareshkumar Shamjibhai of BSP. He served in as Cabinet Minister for Panchayat and and Rural Housing in Govt. of Gujarat till 1995.
  • 1985
    He again contested from Deesa and elected to the assembly. He defeated Desai Mohanbhai Visabhai.
  • 1980
    He contested from Deesa assembly seat but lost against Desai Mohanbhai Visabhai of JNP(P).
  • 1975
    Vaghela Liladharbhai Khodaji was elected to Gujarat Legislative Assembly from Deodar. He completed his 5 year tenure.

Vaghela Liladharbhai Khodaji Early Life

  • 1989-90
    President of Banaskantha District Janata Dal.
  • 1985
    President of Banaskantha District Economically Backward Society Service Union since 1985.
  • 1984
    President of Banaskantha District Panchayat. President of Banaskantha District Jan Morcho.
  • 1972–91
    He became a teacher in the Secondary High School run by Vividhlakshi Vidyamandir. He served as President of Banaskantha District Thakor Samaj also.
  • 1972-75
    He was the Rector and a Teacher at Lokniketan Organisation for Five Years. Also, he was President of Banaskantha Youth Congress.


Convenor:- 1) Gujarat Vikasati Jati Vikas Mandal, 1985; 2) Gujarat "Aavidal" Vikas Parishad, 1996
Net Worth1.54 CRORE

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.

Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X