• search
Anurag Singh Thakur

Anurag Singh Thakur


Anurag Singh Thakur, a Cricketer,an Industrialist and an Agriculturist by Profession turned Politician, is a member of 16th Lok Sabha from Hamirpur,Himachal Pradesh.
He was first elected to Lok Sabha in May 2008 in a by poll, and belongs to Bharatiya Janata Party.
He is the three time MP, being a member of 14th, 15th and 16th Lok sabha.
Anurag Thakur led march from Kolkata to Lal Chowk in Srinagar under the banner of "Rashtriya Ekta Yatra" sponsored by Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) to unfurl the National Flag at Lal Chowk in Srinagar on 26 January 2011. Anurag Thakur is currently appointed as chief Whip of BJP in lok sabha on 18 July 2018.
He was the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) from May 2016 to February 2017.He stepped down from his position of BCCI president after the Supreme Court ordered him to cease and desist works within BCCI. On 29 July 2016 he became the first serving BJP Member of Parliament to become a regular commissioned Officer in the Territorial army.

Personal Life

Full Name Anurag Singh Thakur
Date of Birth 24 Oct 1974 (Age 47)
Place of Birth Hamirpur (Himachal Pradesh)
Party name Bharatiya Janta Party
Education Graduate
Profession Cricketer, Industrialist, Agriculturist
Father's Name Prem Kumar Dhumal
Mother's Name Sheela Devi
Spouse's Name Sheffali Thakur
Children 2 Son(s)
Religion Hindu
Caste Rajput


Permanent address Vill. & P.O. Samirpur, Distt. Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh
Present address 14, Janpath New Delhi -110 001
Contact number 09418000981,09868180974,(01972) 275060

Interesting Facts

Thakur is one of the youngest Parliamentarians in India today and received the Best Young Parliamentarian Award in 2011

Political Timeline

  • 2021
    In the cabinet reshuffle, Anurag Singh Thakur was promoted to the cabinet rank and appointed as the Minister of Information and Broadcasting and Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.
  • 2019
    He was appointed as MoS ministry of Finance; and MoS ministry of Corporate Affairs.
  • 2019
    23rd May 2019:He was Re-elected to the 17th Lok Sabha for a fouth term from Harimpur Lok Sabha constituency where he defeated Ram Lal Thakur of INC by a margin of over 300000 votes.
  • 2015
    29 Jan. 2015: He was a Member, General Purposes Committee 13 May 2015:Member, Joint Committee on the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Second Amendment) Bill, 2015.
  • 2014
    May, 2014:He was Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (3rd term) He defeated Rajinder Singh Rana of Congress Party by 98,403 votes.
  • 2009
    He was Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (2nd term). He defeated Narinder Thakur of Congress Party by 72,732 votes. 31 Aug. 2009: He was a Member, Standing Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Power
  • 2008
    May 2008:He was Elected to 14th Lok Sabha in a bye-election. He defeated O.P.Rattan of Congress Party by 174,666 votes.


He was the Youngest President, Himachal Pradesh State Cricket Association at the age of 25
He was also the Youngest National Selector to select Indian Junior Cricket Teams at the age of 26 years, 2001 President, State Rifle Association, Himachal Pradesh
General Secretary: Himachal Pradesh Olympic Association and Hockey, Himachal Pradesh
Executive Member, Indian Olympic Association
Net Worth4.45 CRORE
Liabilities20.75 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Online Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X