Home Nobel Prize Winners List in India

Nobel Prize Winners List in India

The Nobel Prize awarded was started in 1901 by the Noble Foundation and it is given in memory of Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel who made 355 inventions including the invention of dynamite. Celebrated Indian poet, musician, and painter, Rabindranath Tagore was first Indian to win the Nobel Prize in 1913. The second India to win the award was Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman, or CV Raman. In all 12 Indians have won the coveted award. This page provides with the list of Indians who won the Nobel Prize.

Sl.No Name Category Year Province
1 Rabindranath Tagore Literature 1913 West Bengal
2 C. V. Raman Physics 1930 Tamil Nadu
3 Mother Teresa Peace 1979 India (born in Skopje, North Macedonia)
4 Amartya Sen Economics 1998 West Bengal
5 Kailash Satyarthi Peace 2014 Madhya Pradesh
6 Har Gobind Khorana Physiology or Medicine 1968 United States (born in Raipur, British India)
7 Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Physics 1983 United States (born in Lahore, British India)
8 Venki Ramakrishnan Chemistry 2009 United Kingdom United States (born in Chidambaram, India)
9 Abhijit Banerjee Economics 2019 United States (born in Calcutta, India)
10 Ronald Ross Physiology or Medicine 1902 United Kingdom (born in Almora, British India)
11 Rudyard Kipling Literature 1907 United Kingdom (born in Bombay, British India)
12 14th Dalai Lama Peace 1989 India (born in Taktser, Tibet)
The "ONEINDIA" word mark and logo are owned by One.in Digitech Media Pvt. Ltd.