Home Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners List

Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners List

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is the highest award of Indian film industry, which was introduced by the Government of India to commemorate Dadasaheb Phalke's contribution to Indian cinema.
Dadasaheb Phalke is also known as "the father of Indian cinema", who was a veteran filmmaker, moreover, directed India's first full-length feature film titled Raja Harishchandra in 1913. The award is presented at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals to honor the artists for their "outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema." The awardees are honored with a Swarna Kamal medallion, a shawl, and a cash prize of ₹1,000,000. The first recipient was veteran actress Devika Rani, who was honored at the 17th National Film Awards. There have been total 51 awardees till Year-2019.
Here is the full list of the Dadasaheb Phalke Awardees.

Sl.No Name State Year Category Film Industry
1 Devika Rani Andra Pradesh 1969 Actress Hindi
2 Birendranath Sircar Bihar 1970 Producer Bengali
3 Prithviraj Kapoor Maharashtra 1971 Actor Hindi
4 Pankaj Mullick West Bengal 1972 Music Director Bengali & Hindi
5 Ruby Myers (Sulochana) Maharashtra 1973 Actress Hindi
6 B. N. Reddy Andra Pradesh 1974 Director Telugu
7 Dhirendra Nath Ganguly West Bengal 1975 Actor, Director Bengali
8 Kanan Devi West Bengal 1976 Actress Bengali
9 Nitin Bose West Bengal 1977 Cinematographer, Director, Screenwriter Bengali & Hindi
10 Raichand Boral West Bengal 1978 Music Director, Director Bengali & Hindi
11 Sohrab Modi Maharashtra 1979 Actor, Director, Producer Hindi
12 Paidi Jairaj Telangana 1980 Actor, Director Hindi & Telugu
13 Naushad Uttar Pradesh 1981 Music Director Hindi
14 L. V. Prasad Andra Pradesh 1982 Actor, Director, Producer Telugu, Tamil & Hindi
15 Durga Khote Maharashtra 1983 Actress Hindi & Marathi
16 Satyajit Ray West Bengal 1984 Director Bengali
17 V. Shantaram Maharashtra 1985 Director, Producer, Actor Hindi & Marathi
18 B. Nagi Reddy Andra Pradesh 1986 Producer Telugu
19 Raj Kapoor 1987 Actor, Director Hindi
20 Ashok Kumar 1988 Actor Hindi
21 Lata Mangeshkar Uttar Pradesh 1989 Playback Singer Hindi & Marathi
22 Akkineni Nageswara Rao Andra Pradesh 1990 Actor Telugu
23 Bhalji Pendharkar Maharashtra 1991 Director, Producer, Screenwriter Marathi
24 Bhupen Hazarika Maharashtra 1992 Director Assamese
25 Majrooh Sultanpuri Maharashtra 1993 Lyricist Hindi
26 Dilip Kumar Maharashtra 1994 Actor Hindi
27 Rajkumar Karnataka 1995 Actor Kannada
28 Sivaji Ganesan Tamil Nadu 1996 Actor Tamil
29 Kavi Pradeep Maharashtra 1997 Lyricist Hindi
30 B. R. Chopra Maharashtra 1998 Director, Producer Hindi
31 Hrishikesh Mukherjee Maharashtra 1999 Director Hindi
32 Asha Bhosle Maharashtra 2000 Playback Singer Hindi & Marathi
33 Yash Chopra Maharashtra 2001 Director, Producer Hindi
34 Dev Anand 2002 Director, Producer, Actor Hindi
35 Mrinal Sen West Bengal 2003 Director Bengali & Hindi
36 Adoor Gopalakrishnan Kerala 2004 Director Malayalam
37 Shyam Benegal Telangana 2005 Director Hindi
38 Tapan Sinha Kolkata 2006 Bengali & Hindi
39 Manna Dey West Bengal 2007 Playback Singer Bengali & Hindi
40 V. K. Murthy Karnataka 2008 Cinematographer Hindi
41 D. Ramanaidu Andra Pradesh 2009 Producer Telugu
42 K. Balachander Tamil Nadu 2010 Director Tamil & Telugu
43 Soumitra Chatterjee West Bengal 2011 Actor Bengali
44 Pran Delhi 2012 Actor Hindi
45 Gulzar Maharasthra 2013 Poet, Filmmaker Hindi
46 Shashi Kapoor West Bengal 2014 Actor Hindi
47 Manoj Kumar Pakistan 2015 Actor Hindi
48 K. Viswanath Andra Pradesh 2016 Director Telugu
49 Vinod Khanna Maharasthra 2017 Actor Hindi
50 Amitabh Bachchan Uttar Pradesh 2018 Actor Hindi
51 Rajinikanth Tamil Nadu 2019 Actor Tamil
The "ONEINDIA" word mark and logo are owned by One.in Digitech Media Pvt. Ltd.