• search
Tarun Gogoi

Tarun Gogoi


Born on 11 October 1934, Tarun Gogoi remained the Chief Minister of Assam from 2001 to 2016. The Indian National Congress leader guided the party to a three consecutive electoral victories in the state. He did his primary schooling from No.26 Rangajan Nimna Buniyadi Vidyalaya. He completed his LLB from Gauhati University, Assam in 1963. On 30 July 1972, Gogoi got married to Dolly Gogoi. He has one son Gaurav Gogoi and one daughter Chandrima Gogoi. Gogoi 's political career started in 1968 when he was appointed as a member of the Jorhat Municipal Board. In 1971, Gogoi was elected to the fifth Lok Sabha during the tenure of Indira Gandhi. Tarun Gogoi won the 2001 Assam Legislative Assembly elections from Titabar assembly and became the chief minister of Assam. In 2016, his tenure came to an end after the INC suffered a defeat against the BJP. Gogoi completed six terms as a Member of Parliament (MP) from the Lok Sabha. From 1971–85, Gogoi represented Jorhat constituency. He was later elected from Kaliabor (1991–96/1998–2002).

Personal Life

Full Name Tarun Gogoi
Date of Birth 11 Oct 1934 (Age 86)
Place of Birth Rangamati, Jorhat
Party name Indian National Congress
Education Graduate Professional
Profession Politician
Father's Name Dr. Kamaleswar Gogoi
Mother's Name Usha Gogoi
Spouse's Name Dolly Gogoi
No of Sons 1
No of Daughters 1


Permanent address Reg.- Nazirali, PO- Jorhat, PIN No- 785001, Dist- Jorhat Assam
Present address State Guest House No.-1, Khanapara, Guwahati Contact No.-0361-2360291
Contact number 0361-2361112, 9678002244
Email tarungogoi126@gmail.com
Social Handles

Interesting Facts

Other than political interest, Tarun Gogoi loves reading and gardening. His interest is also vested in sports like cricket, football and tennis. He also plays golf. He was the former Treasurer of the All Assam Moina Parijat & Children's Organisations and ex-Chairman of Bharat Yuvak Samaj. He is the longest serving chief minister of the state. He led the Congress Party to victory in three consecutive legislative assembly elections.

Political Timeline

  • 2016
    Tarun Gogoi's Indian National Congress lost against the BJP and his tenure came to an end.
  • 2011
    He won the assembly elections and became the chief minister of the state for the third consecutive year.
  • 2006
    He repeated his success in the 2006 assembly elections and served as the chief minister for the second term.
  • 2001
    Tarun Gogoi won the Assam Legislative Assembly elections from Titabar assembly to become the chief minister of the state.
  • 1999
    Gogoi was again re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (6th term).
  • 1998
    He got re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (5th term).
  • 1997
    Gogoi was elected to the Assam Legislative Assembly from Margherita Assembly Constituency.
  • 1993-1995
    He became the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Food Processing Industry.
  • 1991-1993
    He was appointed as the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Ministry of Food.
  • 1985
    He became the General Secretary of the All India Congress Committee.
  • 1976
    Tarun Gogoi was elected as the Joint Secretary of All India Congress Committee (AICC).
  • 1971
    Gogoi got elected to the fifth Lok Sabha during the tenure of Indira Gandhi.
  • 1968
    Tarun Gogoi's career as a politician started in 1968. He was appointed as a member of the Jorhat Municipal Board.
Net Worth5.35 CRORE
Liabilities19.4 LAKHS

Disclaimer: The information relating to the candidate is an archive based on the self-declared affidavit filed at the time of elections. The current status may be different. For the latest on the candidate kindly refer to the affidavit filed by the candidate with the Election Commission of India in the recent election.


Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X