• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

UP Bihar bypolls 2018: Polling ends; 43 % turnout in Gorakhpur; 37.39 % in Phulpur


Bypoll for two Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats and Araria Lok Sabha seat will be held in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar respectively. Also, two assembly seats Jehanabad and Bhabhua will go for byelection.

Lok Sabha bypolls 2018: Stage set

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded former mayor of Varanasi, Kaushlendra Singh Patel as its candidate from Phulpur while Upendra Shukla would contest from Gorakhpur.

The BJP has picked former MP Pradip Kumar Singh as its candidate for Araria Lok Sabha by-election.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has fielded Sarfaraz Alam, son of the late Member of Parliament Mohammad Taslimuddin, for the seat. The BJP has also fielded Rinki Pandey for the assembly by-election from Bhabua in Bihar.

This is the first bypoll for Nitish Kumar-led NDA government in Bihar after it severed ties with the grand alliance last year. Janata Dal (United) is contesting the Jehanabad assembly seat, leaving Araria and Bhabua to its ally, the BJP.

The voting will begin at 7:00 AM and will continue till 5:00 PM. The counting of votes for Gorakhpur, Phulpur and Araria Lok Sabha By-elections 2018 will be conducted on March 14.

Stay tuned for LIVE updates:

Newest First Oldest First
6:52 PM, 11 Mar
Voter turnout in bypolls
5:45 PM, 11 Mar
Voter turnout in Phulpur till 5 pm is 38%
3:33 PM, 11 Mar
Voter turnout in Phulpur till 3 pm 26.6%
3:04 PM, 11 Mar
Some snags in the electronic voting machines (EVMs) have been reported from a few places. Polling was held up at Kidwai college in Allahabad (East) for some time due to a technical glitch.
3:03 PM, 11 Mar
Voter turnout picks up in Gorakhpur but Phulpur registers under 20% till 1 pm
2:28 PM, 11 Mar
UP Health Minister Sidharth Nath Singh casts his vote in Phulpur.
1:02 PM, 11 Mar
RJD candidate for Bihar's Araria by-poll, Sarfaraz Alam, casts his vote. On allegations of BJP he said, "Jo sheeshe ke ghar mein rehte hain dusron pe pathar nahi maarte. I am sure of a victory, my religion is development.'
1:02 PM, 11 Mar
Bihar: An elderly woman casts her vote with the help of family members.
12:48 PM, 11 Mar
Bihar: 31.25% voter turnout recorded in Araria Lok Sabha by-poll & 24.5% in Bhabua & 28.6% in Jehanabad assembly by-polls till 12 noon
12:48 PM, 11 Mar
UP by-polls: 16.80% voter turnout recorded in Gorakhpur & 12.20% in Phulpur, till 11 am.
11:25 AM, 11 Mar
Gorakhpur ByPoll : Minister of State for Finance Shiv Pratap Shukla cast his vote in Gorakhpur
10:46 AM, 11 Mar
Uttar Pradesh Bybolls: 7 percent voting in Gorakhpur and 4.5 percent voting in Phulpur till 9 AM
10:01 AM, 11 Mar
BJP candidate for Araria by-polls, Pradeep Singh, casts his vote
8:41 AM, 11 Mar
'People will throw away his appeal. Wherever he goes Congress is decimated because he works with a negative mindset': UP CM on Rahul Gandhi's statement saying, 'If I was PM & someone had given me a file with #Demonetisation written on it, I would've thrown it in dustbin.'
8:40 AM, 11 Mar
BJP will win both the by-polls Gorakhpur & Phulpur with massive majority & on the basis of PM Modi's governance of development, 2019 election results will also be good for the BJP: UP CM Yogi Adityanath
7:46 AM, 11 Mar
Araria: Complaint lodged against Bihar BJP state President Nityanand Rai' on charges of violating model code of conduct for his comment stating ' If Sarfaraz Alam (RJD candidate) wins the by poll then Araria will become hub of ISI
7:40 AM, 11 Mar
Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath casts his vote for Gorakhpur ByPoll at a polling station, says 'For development and good governance, BJP is necessary.'
7:19 AM, 11 Mar
Gorakhpur: Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath at a polling station to cast his vote for Lok Sabha by-election.
6:59 AM, 11 Mar
Gorakhpur: Polling for Lok Sabha by-election to begin shortly
6:21 AM, 11 Mar
Nearly 6,500 personnel of central para-military forces have been deployed to prevent any untoward incident during polling.
6:19 AM, 11 Mar
The Election Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations.
6:19 AM, 11 Mar
Voting for the crucial bye-elections in Uttar Pradesh’s Gorakhpur and Phulpur parliamentary constituencies and Bihar's Araria constituency will be held on Sunday amid tight security.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more