Trinamool Congress sweeps Bengal polls, wins 211 seats

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, May 19: The much-awaited results for the 294 Assembly constituencies in West Bengal were declared on Thursday (May 19). The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) swept the polls.

Assembly Polls 2016 Coverage; What exit polls 2016 said; 2011 Assembly results

End of updates.

west bengal election 2016

5.10 pm: Tally:

TMC won 211
Congress 44
Left 31
Others 4 

4.25 pm: Mamata Banerjee wins by 25,301 votes; her second-lowest since 1984, when she fought her first election.


3.08 pm: TMC crosses 200 mark; first time since 1972 that a party has got more than 200 seats. In 1972, the Congress got 216 seats. [Mamata creates 4 records]

3.03 pm: Controversial leader Abdur Rezzaq Mollah wins from Bhangar; he has won elections on both CPI(M) and TMC's tickets. He won from East Canning constituency between 1977 and 2011 as CPI(M) candidate but was expelled later after the 2016 loss.

2.43 pm: Scenario now:

TMC wins 195, leads in 20
Left wins 24, leads 5
Congress wins 37, leads 6
BJP wins 3, leads 0
Others win 4, leads 0

2.40 pm: CPI(M)'s Surjya Kanta Mishra who lost from Narayangarh, said the TMC-BJP had an understanding in this election; admits alliance's failure

1.53 pm: Tainted TMC leader Madan Mitra loses from Kamarhati.

TMC wins 153, leads in 63
Left wins 14, leads 14
Congress wins 24, leads 18
BJP wins 4, leads 0
Others win 4, leads 0

1.45 pm: BJP wins 4 seats; it is the highest since its predecessor---the BJS---won 9 in 1952.

1.26 pm: TMC wins 96, leads 118
Left wins 7, leads 22
Congress wins 16, leads 27
BJP wins 4, leads 0
Others win  4, leads 0 

1.25 pm: BJP's Roopa Ganguly loses from Howrah North. TMC's Laxmi Ratan Shukla wins.

1.24 pm: Bengal Congress chief adhir Chowdhury said winning and losing are part of election.

12.32 pm: Alliance was CPI(M)'s biggest blunder; Congress will lose nationally, CPI(M) in state politics, says Mamata Banerjee.

12.30 pm: Left loses Karimnagar constituency in Nadia after 39 years; they have been winning it since 1977; TMC's Mahua Moitra wins.

12.20 pm: "I congratulate the national media for bringing out the right picture", Banerjee said. A section of media in Bengal has vested interest, I don't want to name them, she said

12 noon: Mamata Banerjee speaks on her party's victory. "People asked me why am I not smiling after the win. To them, I say people's smile is my smile." 

She said a terror ambience was created during the election and people were misled. "It is not healthy for democracy," Banerjee said.

11.43 am: TMC wins 9; leads in 206
Left-Cong win 0, leads 69
BJP wins 0, leads 6
Others win 0, lead 4

11.40 am: Mamata Banerjee comes out of her residence in Kalighat in Kolkata.

11.15 am: TMC wins 5; leads in 208
Left-Cong win 0, leads 71
BJP wins 0, leads 6
Others win 0, lead 4

10.55 am: Former MP Sujan Chakraborty leads against TMC's Monish Gupta who defeated Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee in 2011


10.40 am: Vote-share at the moment: TMC - 46%; Left - 19%; Cong - 11.4%; BJP - 10.5%

10.27 am: Mamata Banerjee now leading by 3,160 votes.


9.45 am: TMC seems to win it big, says Congress leader Omprakash Mishra, who was supposed to contest against Mamata.

9.38 am: Mamata Banerjee leads by 1,499 votes in Bhabanipur.

9.28 am: Two rounds of counting over. [How counting of votes takes place]

9.25 am: TMC leads in 142 seats; Left-Congress in 65; BJP in 4; others in 3.

9.20 am: Leader of Oppn Surjya Kanta Mishra now trails from Narayangarh.

9.15 am: Left-Congress candidate Rabin Deb leading in Singur. vaishali Dalmiya, daughter of late Jagmohan Dalmiya, is leading from Bally.

8.55 am: TMC leads in 106 seats; Left-Congress in 41 seats; BJP in 2; others 1


8.42 am: TMC's Madan Mitra, accused in Saradha and Narada scams, leads from Kamarhati.

8.36 am: TMC leads in 28 seats; Left-Congress 14; BJP - 2

8.35 am: BJP's Roopa Ganguly trailing against TMC's Laxmi Ratan Shukla in Howrah North. Former state BJP chief Rahul Sinha is leading in Jorasanko.

8.28 am: Son of former railway minister and top TMC leader Mukul Roy, Subhranshu Roy, is trailing from Bijpur constituency in North 24 Parganas.


8.25 am: In 2014 LS election, the TMC was leading by less than 5,000 votes in 19 seats; combined votes of Left, Congress exceeded that of the TMC.

8.20 am: TMC leads in seven seats; Left-Congress in three.

8.15 am: First news come in. TMC leads in four seats in Cooch Behar, Jalpaiguri, Alipurduar and Burdwan districts.

8.10 am: TMC and CPI(M) supporters clash in Bhatar in Burdwan. News of bomb-hurling and vandalism of houses.

8.00 am: West Bengal election was the biggest challenge for us; we did good in tackling this challenge: Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi

7.55 am: The ruling Trinamool Congress has contested this election alone. This is the first time since 1962 that a ruling party has contested a state election alone.

counting centre in west vbengal

7.50 am: Seventy-eight companies of central forces have been deployed for the counting day. Tri-layer security has been put up in place.

7.48 am: Elections for 294 Assemblies were held in six phases on April 4, 11, 17, 21, 25, 30 and May 5.

Turnouts were: Phase 1A (84.22%); Phase 1B (83.73%); Phase 2 (83.05%); Phase 3 (82.28%); Phase 4 (81.25%); Phase 5 (81.66%) and Phase 6 (86.76%)

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...