• search
For Kolkata Updates
Allow Notification  

West Bengal polls: Mamata made 5 records


Kolkata, May 18: Results of Assembly elections in four states and one Union Territory were announced on Thursday (May 19). The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) swept the elections and Mamata Banerjee made some records as the leader of that party.

Assembly Polls 2016 Coverage; What exit polls 2016 said

Mamata wins and set to become CM for second time; 6th in the state's history

Mamata Banerjee's victory meant she will become the chief minister of the state for the second time and the first and only woman to do so. Her first stint as the CM was between 2011 and 2016. Before her, Prafulla Chandra Ghosh, Bidhan Chandra Roy, Ajoy Kumar Mukherjee, Jyoti Basu and Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee became the chief minister for two or more times. [Mamata Banerjee has lost only 1 election in her career]

mamata banerjee

Mamata wins, implying anti-incumbency factor has succeeded in Bengal only twice in last 39 years

Banerjee's victory meant that the anti-incumbency factor has failed in the state yet again. West Bengal has seen anti-incumbency factor influencing an election only twice in the last 39 years---in 1977 when the Congress lost power and in 2011, when the Left was toppled. It will also mean Mamata Banerjee, like Bidhan Roy, Ajoy Mukherjee, Jyoti Basu and Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, will succeed in beating the anti-incumbency factor. [How 6 phases of Bengal polls went]

Mamata wins and it implies the ruling party has won contesting alone for first time since 1962

Mamata Banerjee wins, signifying for the first time since 1962 that a ruling party would win an election by contesting alone. In 1962, the ruling Congress had won 152 seats in the 252-seat Assembly.

Mamata wins, handing the Left its fourth straight defeat since 2009

Banerjee wins this election, meaning the Left Front's fourth thrashing in the hands of the TMC since the 2009 Lok Sabha election. While the TMC suffered big losses in 2001 and 2006, it reversed the trend in 2009 and repeated the performance in the 2011 Assembly election and 2014 Lok Sabha election.

Mamata wins as her party wins over 200 seats

The TMC was set to set its 2011 tally by at least 30 seats which is another record in the history of West Bengal's elections. The last and the only time a party got more than 200 seats was the Congress and it achieved the feat in the 1972 election.

Oneindia News

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more