CPI(M) renominates MLAs for TN polls, releases nominees list

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, April 18: CPI(M), a constituent of the DMDK-PWF combine, on Monday, April 18 released its list of candidates for 25 constituencies, giving tickets to seven of the 10 sitting MLAs.

Party floor leader in the outgoing 14th Assembly, A Soundararajan, will seek re-election from Perambur here, while his colleague and sitting legislator K Balakrishnan will contest again from Chidambaram in Cuddalore District.


Similarly, sitting MLAs K Thangavel will fight again from Tirupur South, A Lazar from Periyakulam (Reserved), and K Bheem Rao from Maduravoyal, V P Nagai Mali from Keezhvelur (Reserved) and R Ramamurthy from Vikkravandi.

Party sources said three time MLA K Balabarathy, who has represented Dindigul since 2001 in the Assembly, has not been given ticket as she was provided the opportunity thrice before. According to party norms, only twice could a party worker be given an opportunity to become an MLA.

However, as an exception she had three chances, sources added. Sitting MLA from Madurai South R Annadurai could not be given a ticket as the seat went to its alliance partner.

In Puducherry, L Kalivaradan has been named nominee for Tirubuvanai-Reserved seat. In TR Pattinam, Lazpet, and Bagur, Mohammed Thameem Ansari, A Anand and P Sivagami will be the party nominees respectively.


Please Wait while comments are loading...