• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

South Africa dump failed opener McKenzie and pace bowler Morne Morkel

By Super Admin

Durban (South Africa), Mar.11 (ANI): South Africa have dumped opener Neil McKenzie and pace bowler Morne Morkel for the third Test against Australia that begins from March 19 in Cape Town.

The Proteas, who trail Ricky Ponting's men 2-0 in the three-Test series and have surrendered their chance to take the No.1 ranking from Australia, will also be without skipper Graeme Smith, reports the Sydney Morning Herald.

Smith broke his right little finger when struck by a short ball from Mitchell Johnson while batting in this week's second Test in Durban and is hoping to return for next month's five-game one-day series against Australia.

Vice-captain Ashwell Prince, who missed South Africa's 2-1 series win over Australia in Australia in December and January because of a thumb injury, will lead the side for the third Test.

Prince, whose place in the Johannesburg and Durban Tests was taken by JP Duminy, will be slotted back into the team in an opening role with the uncapped Imraan Khan.

Khan made 100 for the South Africa President's XI in the tour match in Potchefstroom last month, impressing chairman of selectors Mike Procter.

"That was a tough decision. We just felt that being 2-0 down had some bearing on that," Procter said when asked if it was a brave move to bring in two new openers at the same time.

"Maybe if we'd drawn this Test match or won it, it might have been a little bit different," added Procter after South Africa's 175-run loss on Tuesday in Durban handed Australia a series win.

Prince has played his previous 47 Tests mainly as a No.5 batsman.

Uncapped left-arm quick Wayne Parnell, 19, comes into the 12-man squad for the struggling Morkel, who took two wickets in the Durban Test and struggled for rhythm and accuracy.

However, Morne Morkel's place in the 11 is likely to be taken by his uncapped brother Albie, who was 12th man in Durban.

South Africa Test squad: Ashwell Prince (capt), Imraan Khan, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Mark Boucher, Albie Morkel, Paul Harris, Dale Steyn, Makhaya Ntini and Wayne Parnell.

Twenty20 squad (to play Australia on March 27 in Johannesburg and March 29 in Pretoria): Johan Botha (captain), Yusuf Abdulla, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Johann Louw, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe and Vaughn van Jaarsveld. (ANI)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more