Mah govt allows 14 municipal corporations to levy octroi

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Nov 18 (UNI) The Maharashtra Government has permitted 14 Municipal Corporations to levy octroi instead of cess.

The decision was taken by Chief Minister Vilasrao Deshmukh when Principal Secretary, Urban Development, Manukumar Shrivastav met him recently.

According to the decision Akola, Amravati, Jalgaon, Aurangabad, Malegaon, Solapur, Kolhapur, Ahmednagar, Dhule, Kalyan-Dombivli, Sangli-Miraj-Kupwad, Bhiwandi-Nizampur, Ulhasnagar and Nanded-Waghola Municipal Corporations can decide on their level of when to impose cess instead of octroi on goods entering into the cities and till then they are allowed to collect to collect octroi under the sub-section 2 (A) of clause 127 of Mumbai Regional Municipal Corporation Act, 1949.

The notification in this regard has been published on November 15, 2008, an official release said here today.


Please Wait while comments are loading...