Lok Sabha election: 4 NE states go to polls in phase 2 tomorrow

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, April 8: Polling will take place on Wednesday in six constituencies spread across four north-eastern states in round two of the nine-phase Lok Sabha elections.

[Read first phase polling details]

Elections to the sole Lok Sabha seat in Mizoram was postponed to April 11 on Tuesday following a state-wide bandh called against exercise of franchise by Bru voters lodged in Tripura camps through postal ballots.

Voting will be held in one seat each in Nagaland and Manipur and two seats each in Arunchal Pradesh and Meghalaya. In Arunachal Pradesh, simultaneous elections will be held for 49 of the 60 Assembly seats. The campagning in these constituencies has already ended.

Six seats in four states will go to the polls in the second phase

Nagaland's lone Parliamentary seat will see only three candidates - Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio (NPF), Congress' KV Pusa and Akheu Achumi of Socialist Party (India) in the race.

An electorate of 11,79,881 will be eligible to cast their votes. Elections will be held tomorrow in Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat, one of the two Lok Sabha constituencies in Manipur.Among the 10 contestants are nominees of BJP, Congress, Trinamool Congress, Naga People's Front, NCP, JD(U) and Aam Admi Party. Three independents are also in the fray.

to help us personalise your reading experience.

Prominent candidates are sitting Congress MP Thangso Baite, Gangmumei Kamei (BJP), C. Doungel (NCP), Kim Gangte (Trinamool Congress), Soso Lorho (Naga People's Front), L Gangte (JD-U) and MK Zou (AAP).

Out of total electorate of 9,11,699, 4,63,068 are women. There are 511 polling booths. Polling for the second seat in the state, Inner Manipur constituency will be held on April 17.

In Arunachal Pradesh, Western and Eastern parliamentary constituencies will witness a multi-cornered contest among Congress, BJP, NCP, PPA and independents.

Among the eight candidates in the Western seat are Congress nominee and sitting MP Takam Sanjoy locking horns with former MP Kiren Rijiju, a BJP nominee.


Please Wait while comments are loading...