• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Congress Plenary Session to take place from March 16

By Deepika

The Congress will hold its plenary session to discuss and evolve the party's future strategy in Delhi on March 16, 17 and 18.

Congress steering committee meet underway

The dates were fixed at a meeting of the Steering Committee, which was formed after dissolving the Central Working Committee.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi chaired the first meeting of the Steering Committee.

Addressing the Steering Committee Rahul said that 'India's jobless growth and not empowering the farmers & farm labourers is not an option anylonger. Everything can wait but India's young and farmers can't.'

"The Congress plenary session will be held in Delhi on March 16, 17 and 18," said Surjewala. Chairperson of the Congress Parliamentary Party, Sonia Gandhi, former prime minister Manmohan Singh and senior leaders including A K Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge attended the meeting.

This is the second big meeting of the Congress at organisation level headed by Rahul Gandhi. The first one was the CWC meeting in December headed by Rahul immediately after becoming party president.

The newly formed 34-member Congress steering committee is meeting for the first time.

The steering committee will meet to decide on the schedule for the plenary session, which is likely to be held before the start of the second part of Budget Session of Parliament on 5 March.

The AICC plenary will ratify the December 11 election of Rahul Gandhi as Congress president, ending the entire process of organisational elections.

Rahul Gandhi on Friday dissolved the party's highest decision-making body, Central Working Committee (CWC), and formed a 34-member Steering Committee.

While all CWC members are part of the new committee, some of the permanent invitees like Amarinder Singh, Vilas Muttemwar, RK Dhawan, Shivajirao Deshmukh, MV Rajasekharan and Mohsina Kidwai, as well all special invitees have been dropped.

The Steering Committee will function till the plenary session, after which a new CWC will be put in place.

As per the party's Constitution, the 25-member CWC has 12 elected members and 11 nominated members, besides the Congress president and the chairperson of the Congress Parliamentary Party.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more