• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Lok Sabha election 2019: A look at West Bengal constituencies: ALIPURDUAR


Kolkata, March 11: The schedule for the 17th Lok Sabha election was announced by the Election Commission on Sunday, March 10. The election will be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19 with the results to be declared on May 23. Of all the states in the country, West Bengal, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh will witness elections in seven phases.

Lok Sabha election 2019: A look at West Bengal constituencies: ALIPURDUAR

Here we take a look at all the Lok Sabha constituencies (42) of Bengal and how parties have fared there over the years.

Constituency: ALIPURDUAR (reserved for Scheduled Tribes)

Date of election: April 11 (Phase 1)

Since 2009, the Alipurduar constituency comprises seven segments and they are: Tufanganj (in Cooch Behar district), Kumargram (ST), Kalchini (ST), Alipurduar, Falakata (SC), Madarihat (ST) and Nagrakata (ST) (in Jalpaiguri district). It is located in the district of Alipurduar (formed in 2014) in the extreme north-eastern part of West Bengal.

Bengal to see 7-phase election when even disturbed J&K will have 5 phases: A sorry affair

What happened in 2014:

In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the ruling Trinamool Congress won in Alipurduar constituency. Dasrath Tirkey won (3,62,453 votes), defeating her nearest rival Manohar Tirkey of the Revolutionary Socialist Party or RSP (3,41,056 votes) - a constituency of the Left Front- by 21,397 votes.

The BJP finished third in the table with its candidate Birendra Bara Oraon getting 3,35,857 votes. The Congress's Joseph Munda finished fourth with 1,16,718 votes and NOTA got 19,885 votes.

Vote share:

The TMC got 29.61 per cent vote share while the RSP got 27.86 per cent. The BJP received 27.44 per cent of vote share and the Congress 9.54 per cent. Others got 5.5 per cent votes.

Lok Sabha election 2019: A look at West Bengal constituencies: COOCH BEHAR

In the 2014 election, Alipurduar constituency had 15,31.469 voters.

History of Alipurduar constituency results: It was a bastion of the RSP all throughout

Alipuduar remained a constituency dominated by the RSP throughout. Election was first held in this seat in 1977 and between 1977 and 2009, the Left party won each and every election from this seat irrespective of the national results. It was in 2014 that its fortress was breached by the TMC for the first time. Later leaders Pius Tirkey and Joachim Baxla won from this seat five times and four times in a row, respectively.

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more