• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Himachal Pradesh Elections 2017: Congress announces list of 59 candidates

By Vicky

Close on the heels of the BJP announcing its list for the Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017, the Congress released a list of 59 candidates.

Virbadhra Singh

Interestingly Chief Minister Virbadhra Singh changed his seat from Shimla (rural) to Arki in Solan district. The Shimla (rural) has been kept pending by the central election committee of the party.

Sources say that the Shimla (rural) seat is likely to be contested by Singh's son, Vikramaditya Singh. MLAs Asha Kumari, who is in-charge of Punjab, and G.S. Bali have been repeated by the Congress.

The party has also fielded former Rajya Sabha member Viplove Thakur from the Dera constituency. There has however been no announcement regarding the state unit chief, Sukhvinder Singh who is at loggerheads with the CM.

The election for the Congress would be led by Singh himself. There was a cloud over him leading the contest, but Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi declared at a rally in Mandi that Singh would be the CM candidate.

The elections will be held on November 9 and results would be announced on December 18.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X