• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Gujarat elections: Congress replaces 5 out of 90 candidates, Patidar's still unhappy


The Congress has replaced five out of the 90 candidates it had announced so far for the Gujarat polls, as part of the poll strategy.

Image for representation only

The party last night released its second list of 13 candidates, comprising nine new candidates, apart from four replaced nominees who were on the first list of 77 candidates. The first list was released on November 19.

The names of the five new entrants in the candidate list are Bhikhabhai Joshi (Junagadh), Jayesh Patel (Bharuch), Ashok Jirawala (Kamrej), Dhirubhai Gajera (Varaccha Road) and DM Patel (Botad). They have replaced Amit Thummar, Kiran Thakor, Nilesh Kumbani, Prafulbhai Togadiya, and Manhar Patel, respectively.

Gujarat Congress unit president Bharatsinh Solanki said the replacement was part of a strategy.

"These changes are done as part of a strategy. We have to keep in mind various factors as well as the feedback we received from the party workers," he told PTI.

Gujarat Congress spokesperson Manish Doshi said DM Patel will contest from Botad seat, a Patel-dominated area where he faces senior BJP leader and state Finance Minister Saurabh Patel.

After the Congress released its first list on Sunday, disgruntled party workers had held protests in Surat, Dhoraji, and Jamangar on Monday over the choice of nominees.

In the first list, the Congress gave tickets to only two members of the Patidar Anamat Andolan Samiti (PAAS) as against the 20 seats demanded by the Hardik Patel-led organisation.

Patel's close aide and PAAS convener for Botad, Dilip Sabva today said since the Congress has chosen DM Patel for the seat, he was now exploring other "options".

"We (Patidars) are working hard since the last two-three years to overthrow the BJP government. When the BJP has fielded a strong candidate like Saurabh Patel, the Congress should have taken a wise decision. We may tap other options now," Sabva told reporters in Botad.

The polling for the two-phase polls will be held on December 9 and December 14. Votes will be counted on December 18.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more