• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Goa Assembly polls: BJP releases names of 34 candidates, CM Pramod Sawant

Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 20: The BJP on Thursday released the names of 34 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Goa.

Goa Assembly polls: BJP releases names of 34 candidates, CM Pramod Sawant

Chief Minister Pramod Sawant will again be the BJP's candidate from Sanquelim, , while Deputy CM Manohar Ajgaonkar will contest from Margaon, according to the list announced by the party general secretary Arun Singh along with the state's poll in-charge Devendra Fadnavis.
Announcing the candidates, Fadnavis said, the BJP ushered in a new era of development Goa in the last 10 years while also ensuring stability.

The BJP is currently ruling Goa with 23 MLAs by its side as four legislators - Michael Lobo, Alina Saldanha , Carlose Almeida and Pravin Zantye - resigned from the party and the House.

Apart from the BJP and the Congress, several other parties, including the TMC and Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), will be fighting the Goa Assembly polls to be held on February 14.

The elections for the 40-member Goa Assembly will be held in single phase on February 14. With the entry of the AAP and TMC in the poll arena, the election is expected to be a multi-cornered one this time.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X