• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Exit polls vs actual polls : See who got it right about Uttar Pradesh in 2017

    By Chennabasaveshwar

    Voting for the Karnataka assembly elections is going to end by 6.00 PM today. No doubt, people will be glued to television sets to know who will be winning this waveless election. As we know, opinion polls are divided on their results, some predict hung assembly and some gave edge to the BJP over Congress and vice-verse. At this juncture, better recall the exit poll prediction of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections 2017.

    Exit polls vs actual polls : See who got it right about Uttar Pradesh in 2017

    All the major exit polls were not even close to 300 mark in their results announced on the last days of voting in Uttar Pradesh. All exit poll results had predicted a hung assembly in Uttar Pradesh, with BJP emerging as the largest party. However, the massive gain by the BJP took everyone by surprise last year. The saffron party got 265 seats more in 2017 compared to 47 in 2012.

    The BJP secured 312 seats and out of the state's 403 seats; its allies won 13 seats for a grand total of 325. The SP+Congress alliance got only 56 seats and Mayawati's BSP failed to surprise with 19 seats. though major exit polls have edge to the BJP over Congress and SP alliance but failed to predict the impact of PM Modi wave and Amit Shah's social engineering, but only Dainik Bharat's exit poll was nearest to the actual number of seats BJP won.

    Let's take look at the Uttar Pradesh exit polls:

    Party Seats Vote-share percentage
    BJP+ 251-279 36
    SP-Congress 88-112 30
    BSP 28-42 22
    Others 4-11 12
    ABP News-Lokniti Exit Poll
    Party Seats
    BJP+ 102-126
    SP+Congress 98-122
    BSP 30-46
    Others 0-2
    Times Now-VMR Exit Poll
    Party Seats
    BJP+ 190-210
    SP+Congress 110-130
    BSP 57-74
    Others 8
    MRC-NewsX Exit Poll
    Party Seats
    BJP+  185
    SP-Congress 120
    BSP 90
    Others 8
    India TV - C Voter Exit Poll
    Party Seats
    BJP+ 155-167
    SP-Congress 135-147
    BSP 81-93
    Others 8-20
    Party Seats
    BJP+ 285
    SP+ 88
    BSP 27
    Others 3
    Dainik Bharat
    Party Seats
    BJP+ 309
    SP+ 47
    BSP 36
    Others 11

    For Daily Alerts

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more