• search
For New-delhi Updates
Allow Notification  

Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor launched in Maharashtra


Delhi-Mum Industrial Corridor launched
Mumbai, March 3: The Maharashtra government today launched the first phase of the ambitious Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor project that aims at generating industrial output of Rs 20 lakh crore by 2042.

The mega-infrastructure project will be developed in two phases. The first one includes development of Shendre-Bidkin industrial city and an exhibition-cum-convention centre in Aurangabad, alongwith multi-modal logistics park at Karmad and water supply scheme for Shendre.

In the second phase, projects to be taken up include Dighi port industrial area, Dhule mega industrial park, Nashik-Sinnar-Igatpuri investment region, multimodal logistic park and greenfield mega city in Ahmednagar will be taken up.

"These projects have the potential to make Maharashtra emerge as a world leader in manufacturing and to generate an additional 38 lakh manufacturing jobs in the state with an additional industrial output of Rs 20 lakh crore by 2042," Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan said after the formal signing of the shareholder and state support agreements.

The state government will take up the development of Shendre-Bidkin industrial city in the first leg, which will have an investment of Rs 17,319 crore.

Maharashtra government and the DMIC Trust have formed a joint venture for developing these projects wherein the state will have 51 per cent stake, while the rest will be held by DMIC. "Our contribution will be in the form of providing land, while the Centre's contribution would be to the tune of Rs 3,000 crore for each township project. For the rest, we have tied-up with the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)," Chavan said.

The Shendre-Bidkin project is expected to generate 5 lakh jobs. The DMIC projects in Maharashtra would cover nearly 29 per cent of land area and 18 per cent project influence area.

Around 26 per cent of the state's population would come under the corridor that covers eight districts -- Thane, Raigad, Pune, Dhule, Nandurbar, Nashik, Ahmednagar and Aurangabad.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more