India's LARGEST EVER political poll. Have you participated yet?
  • search

Can BJP win RS deputy chairman elections? Here are the numbers

Subscribe to Oneindia News
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    New Delhi, Aug 7: The fight between the NDA and a joint opposition would yet again be put to test on August 9, when the elections to the post of deputy chairman of the Rajya Sabha will be held.

    Can BJP win RS deputy chairman elections? Here are the numbers

    Although the opposition is yet to decide on who its candidate would be, but the NDA would most likely go ahead with JD(U) leader Harivansh Narayan Singh. On Monday there was hectic activity in Parliament, when several leaders of the opposition met to finalise a candidate.

    From the opposition camp, the front-runners to the post currently are Tiruchi Siva of the DMK and Vandana Chavan of the NCP. However the Congress has not yet completely ruled out the possibility of having its own candidate. It would be about winnability, the Congress said.

    Going by the existing situation, the NDA does not have the numbers on its side. It has the support of 90 MPs in the Upper House with parties such as the BPF, JD(U), NPF, RPI, SAD and SDF backing it.

    Also Read | Dy. Chairman polls: Rajya Sabha numbers, party wise

    The NDA would also look for the support of three out of the four nominated members. Going by these numbers, the NDA is still short of around 32 votes. To win the election in the 245 member house, a candidate would require the support of 123 members.

    The opposition on the other hand has the support of 112 MPs which includes the Congress, AAP, TMC, BSP, CPI (M), DMK, IUML, JD(S), Kerala Congress, NCP, RLD, PDP, SP, and TDP. With these numbers, the opposition is still short by 11 members.

    All eyes would be on the BJD, Shiv Sena, INLD, TRS and YSR Congress Party. It is still not clear which way the Shiv Sena would vote. In the recently held no confidence motion, the Shiv Sena said that it had abstained from voting. The BJD too had abstained from voting.

    While the AIADMK had backed the BJP during the trust vote, this time around it would be interesting to see which way the party votes. With 12 members in the RS, this party could make all the difference for the BJP to edge past the opposition's candidate. The united opposition is hoping that some of the votes of the AIADMK is likely to get split as the party does not have a chief whip in the Upper House.

    Table: Rajya Sabha numbers, party wise

    Rajya Sabha Strength 245
    Vacant Seats 01
    Magic Number 122


    BJP 73
    BPF 01
    JD(U) 06
    Nominated 04
    NPF 01
    RPI (A) 01
    SAD 03
    SDF 01
    Joint opposition 112
    Aam Aadmi Party 03
    Trinamool Congress 13
    Bahujan Samaj Party 04
    Communist Party of India 02
    Communist Party of India (M) 05
    Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 04
    Congress 50
    Indian Union Muslim League 01
    JD(S) 01
    Kerala Congress (M) 01
    Nationalist Congress Party 04
    Rashtriya Janata Dal 05
    Samajwadi Party 13
    Telegu Desam Party 06
    Undecided 42
    AIADMK 13
    BJD 09
    Independents 06
    TRS 06
    Shiv Sena 03
    YSRCP 02
    PDP 02
    INLD 01
    Vacant 01

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more