• search
For Patna Updates
Allow Notification  

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015: Know all about 3rd phase polls


Patna, Oct 15: Bihar is all set to hold third phase of assembly elections on Wednesday, Oct 28. High-octave Bihar assembly polls are a neck-to-neck contest between the NDA-led alliance of BJP-LJP-HAM and the Grand Alliance of Congress-JDU-RJD.

Polling has already been held in 81 assembly seats in the first two phases on Oct 12 and Oct 16 respectively.

[Bihar 3rd Phase Election: Total 53.32% turnout]

Let's take a look at the statistics of the third phase polls:

Bihar: 3rd Phase Assembly Polls

Total Electorate: 1,45,85,177 (Males: 78,31,388; Females: 66,86,718; Transgenders: 599)

Total Candidates: 808 (Females: 71; Criminal candidates: 215)

High profile candidates: RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadv's sons Tej Pratap Yadav, Tejashwi Prasad from Mahua and Raghopur , BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav, Deputy Speaker Amarendra Pratap Singh (Ara) and BJP's chief whip Arun Kumar Sinha Kumhrar. [215 candidates have criminal cases pending against them]

Age Factor: 576 (72%) candidates have declared their age to be between 25 and 50 years while 226 (28%) candidates have declared their age to be between 51 and 80 years.

[Richest candidate is worth Rs 928 crore, poorest 0]

Party-wise candidates:

BJP- 34

BSP- 47

CPI- 19

CPM- 7

Congress- 7

JD (U)- 18

NCP- 2

RJD- 25

LJP- 10


Registered Political Parties (other then recognized National and State)- 354

Independents- 283

Constituencies (50):

  1. Ekma
  2. Manjhi
  3. Baniapur
  4. Taraiya
  5. Marhaura
  6. Chapra
  7. Garkha (SC)
  8. Amnour
  9. Parsa
  10. Sonepur
  11. Hajipur
  12. Lalgani
  13. Vaishali
  14. Mahua
  15. Raja Pakar (SCl
  16. Raghopur
  17. Mahnar
  18. Patepur (SC)
  19. Asthawan
  20. Biharsharif
  21. Rajgir (SC)
  22. Islampur
  23. Hilsa
  24. Nalanda
  25. Harnaut
  26. Mokama
  27. Barh
  28. Bakhtiarpur
  29. Digha
  30. Bankipur
  31. Kumhrar
  32. Patna Sahib
  33. Fatuha
  34. Danapur
  35. Maner
  36. Phulwari (SC)
  37. Masaurhi (SC)
  38. Paliganj
  39. Bikram
  40. Sandesh
  41. Barhara
  42. Arrah
  43. Agiaon (SC)
  44. Tarari
  45. Iagdishpur
  46. Shah pur
  47. Brahampur
  48. Buxar
  49. Dumraon
  50. Rajpur (SC)

Districts (6): Bhojpur, Buxar, Nalanda, Patna, Saran, Vaishali

Polling Time:

7 am to 3 pm: Valmikinagar, Ramanagar, Raghopur and Patepur segments

7 am to 5 am: In rest of the constituencies

Polling Stations: 14,170

Number of EVMs to be used in the elections:

Control Units - 14,170

Ballot Units - 20,812

Security: The polling booths will be manned by central forces and the polling will be webcast live for security purposes.

Key Issues: Corruption, Crime, Development, Drinking water, Unemployment, Migration of work force, Industrial Backwardness, Electricity, Poor educational infrastructure, and Neglect of rural areas.

Results: The counting of votes will take place on Sunday, November 8 for 243-assembly seats of Bihar.

[AAP-style newbies, independents add flavour to Bihar polls]

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more