Bihar 3rd Phase Election: Total 53.32% turnout, Nitish Kumar faces protest at polling booth

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Oct 28: The third phase of the Bihar assembly elections began on Wednesday morning in 50 of the 243 constituencies, spread across six districts.

Nearly 14.5 million voters are eligible to decide the fate of 808 candidates. Most of the 14,170 polling booths are in the rural areas. Six districts that goes to polls today are: Bhojpur, Buxar, Nalanda, Patna, Saran and Vaishali.

[Bihar Assembly Elections 2015: Know all about 3rd phase polls]

Here are the Live updates:

Bihar 3rd Phase Polls

6:20 pm: 53.32% turnout in third phase of polling in Bihar elections, said Chief Electoral Officer Ajay Nayak.

6:00 pm: Voting ended for 50 seats in the high-stake third phase of the five-phase Assembly polls.

5:15 pm: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, while casting his vote in Patna, faced protest at the polling booth. A section of people agitated over death of a girl allegedly due to lack of proper medical facility at Bakhtiyarpur bazar.

4: 37 pm: 49.55% polling recorded till 4 pm for 3rd phase of Bihar Polls

4: 05 pm: Shatrughan Sinha says I never meant to embarrass my party over dal comments

3.30 pm: Why will I embarass my party, I am a mature person,was just expressing concern over dal price hike: Shatrughan Sinha

3.15 pm: There is no fight. We will win with comfortable margin, says Tejaswi Yadav.

3.00 pm: 39.85% polling recorded till 2 pm.

1.50 pm: 33.88% polling recorded till 1 pm.

1.00 pm: 26.94% polling recorded till 12 noon.

12 noon: BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy casts his vote in Chhapra.

11.45 am: 20.72% voter turnout recorded till 11 am.

11.10 am: "People of Bihar desire change, they want to move ahead", says Venkaiah Naidu.

11.00 am: 14.09% polling recorded till 10 am.

10.45 am: Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad casts his vote in Patna.

10.40 am: This election isn't about conventional arithmetic any more. People from all sections are with BJP, says Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.

10.30 am: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar casts his vote in Patna.

10.15 am: Senior citizen who was bitten by monkey outside a polling booth in Bakhtiarpur, casts her vote.

10.00 am: 9.12% provisional voter turnout recorded till 9 am.

9.55 am: Monkey creates hindrance in polling process in Bakhtiarpur, Bihar as it bites and scares voters lined up to cast votes.

9.40 am: Lalu Yadav's wife Rabri Devi & daughter Misa Bharti cast their votes in Patna. Misa hits out at PM Narendra Modi over his remarks on dynastic politics, says PM is stooping low in politics.

9.30 am: RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav casts his vote in Patna.

9.10 am: "PM,BJP never brought down the level of debate,it is Lalu Yadav ji who uses derogatory words like 'Nar pisaach, narbhakshi'", says BJP senior leader Sushil Modi.


9.00 am: Residents of Dilawarpur,Bidupur decide to go fr 'NOTA' over nonfunctional transformer affecting power supply in area.

8.55 am: 5.59% polling recorded till 8 am.

8.35 am: "Charge of Jungle Raj doesn't stand correct, there's more crime in BJP ruled states", says Tejaswi Yadav.

8.30 am: RJD Chief Lalu Prasad's younger son Tejaswi Yadav casts his vote in Patna. Tejaswi is contesting for the first time from the rural assembly constituency of Raghopur.

8.15 am: Senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi casts his vote in Rajendra Nagar, Patna.


7.55 am: Polling for 3rd phase of Bihar Polls underway in Patna.

7.30 am: People wait outside a polling station in Chhapra to cast their votes.

7.20 am: Voters queue up outside a polling booth in Raghopur to cast their votes.

7.10 am: Voters lined up outside a polling booth in Chhapra to cast their votes.

7.00 am: Voting begins for third phase of assembly elections in Bihar. 50 seats spread over six districts are at stake today.


In the first and second phases of the elections on October 12 and 16, polling was held in 49 and 32 constituencies. The results will be announced on Sunday, Nov 8.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...