• search
For Kolkata Updates
Allow Notification  
Oneindia App Download

Mamata Banerjee sworn in as the CM of West Bengal for the second term

By Pallavi
Google Oneindia News

Kolkata, May 27: It is a busy day for Kolkata as for the renewed chief minister of the state-Mamata Banerjee. Unlike the belief of various quarters in West Bengal, Banerjee was unanimously elected as the Chief Minister of the state for the second consecutive term.

People chose her for her ground-based development of rural Bengal, almost akin to Tamil Nadu's Jaya amma's USP. And given the hurdles didi has crossed, the celebration should indeed be grand.

Mamata Banerjee

The stage, the size of a tennis court is set to accomodate all the 41 legislators who will take oath along with her. 18 of them are new. Arrangements have been made to accomodate 35,000 attendees. A VVIP lounge with air-conditioner, a green landscaped garden and a fountain adorn the front of the stage.

[Read: Mamata to take oath as CM today: A look at all 16 women CMs India has had till date ]

1:15 pm: Swearing-in comes to an end

Shyamal Shantra, Zakir Hussain, Lakshmiratan Shukla, Indranil Sen take oath

1:10 pm: Giyasuddin Mollah, Ghulam Rabbani, Sandhyarani Tudu, Bacchu Hansda took oath

Shashi Panja, Swapan Debnath, Manturam Pakhiya, Siddiqullah Chowdhury

1:03: Minister of State with independent charge take oath:

Ashish Bandhopadhyay, James Kujur, Tapan Dasgupta take oath

1:00 pm: Chandranath Singh, Soumen Mahapatra, Rajeeb Bandhopadhyay, Churamani Mahato, Malay Ghatak take oath

12:58 pm: Purnendu Basu, Rabindranath Ghosh, Arup Roy, Shantiram Mahato, Bratya Basu took oath

3rd batch of ministers: Abdur Rajjak Mollah, Jyotipriya Mallick, Shubhendu Adhikara, Binoykrishna Burman, Sadhan Pandey take oath

2nd batch of ministers to take oath: Bobby Hakim, Shobhan Chottopadhyay, Arup Biswas, Goutam Deb, Javed Khan take oath

1st batch to take oath: Amit Mitra, Partho Chottopadhyay, Subrata Mukhopadhyay, Shobhandeb Chottopadhyay, James Kujur take oath

12:49 pm: MInisters of the state take oath

12:45 pm: Banerjee swears in as the CM of Bengal.

12:42 pm: Events starts with the National Anthem

Harsh Neotia, Usha Uthup, Moonmoon Sen and Baichung Bhutia, along with actress Debasree and Tapan Pal are at the venue.

12:37 pm: Since Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheik Hasina is touring Japan, the nations Industries Minister is attending the ceremony on her behalf.

12:36 pm: Former skipper Saurav Ganguly has also reached the venu

12:33 pm: The event is presided by Arvind Kejriwal, Farooq Abdullah, Nitish Kumar, Lalu Prasad Yadav. Actors Rituparna Sengupta, Prasenjit are also present.

12:28 pm: Mamata reaches the venue

12:13 am: Mamata Banerjee has set out from her house at Kalighat in South Kolkata and her convoy is about to start from Red Road.

12:00 noon: Among the VIP guests are Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Union Minister Babool Supriyo, former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav. However, the presence of the opposition leaders is not clear.

[Read: Bengal takes cue from Tamil Nadu: Mamata's ministers to take oath in batches]

(More updates as the day progresses)

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X