• search
For Kolkata Updates
Allow Notification  

Mamata to take oath as CM today: A look at all 16 women CMs India has had till date


Kolkata, May 27: Mamata Banerjee will take oath as the chief minister of West Bengal on Friday (May 27) for the second consecutive time. She is among a few women leaders who have succeeded to win two consecutive terms. Only Sheila Dikshit in Delhi and J Jayalalithaa in Tamil Nadu have won the second consecutive time after serving a complete term. Dikshit, in fact, won three consecutive terms between 1998 and 2013. [Bangladesh PM gifts Mamata 20-kg Hilsa]

India currently has five women chief ministers besides Banerjee and Jayalalithaa and they are: Mehbooba Mufti (Jammu & Kashmir), Anandiben Patel (Gujarat) and Vasundhara Raje (Rajasthan).

mamata banerjee

Here is a list of 16 women chief ministers that India has seen since Independence:

Name State Tenure time
Sucheta Kripalini (Congress) Uttar Pradesh 1963-67
Nandini Satpathy (Congress) Odisha 1972-73; 19734-76
Shashikala Kakodkar (Maharashtra Gomantak Party) Goa 1973-79
Syeda Anwara Taimur (Congress) Assam 1980-81
Janaki Ramachandran (AIADMK) Tamil Nadu 1988
J Jayalalithaa (AIADMK) Tamil Nadu 1991-96; 2001; 2002-06; 2011-15; 2015-present
Mayawati (BSP) Uttar Pradesh 1995, 1997, 2002-03; 2007-12
Rajinder Kaur Bhattal (Congress) Punjab 1996-97
Rabri Devi (RJD) Bihar 1997-99; 1999-2000; 2000-05
Sushma Swaraj (BJP) Delhi 1998
Sheila Dikshit (Congress) Delhi 1998-2013
Uma Bharati (BJP) Madhya Pradesh 2003-04
Vasundhara Raje (BJP) Rajasthan 2003-08; 2013-present
Mamata Banerjee (Trinamool) West Bengal 2011-present
Anandiben Patel (BJP) Gujarat 2014-present
Mehbooba Mufti (PDP) Jammu & Kashmir 2016-present

Oneindia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more