Know the satellites launched by PSLV C-23

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Sriharikota, June 30: The PSLV C-23 launch successfully completed all its four phases. Moreover, this is considered to be the most cost-effective satellite launch ever, even lesser than the Hollywood blockbuster "Gravity", as Narendra Modi pointed out.

But what made it even more historic is the fact that the satellite carrier was indegenous and it placed five foreign satellites successfuly in 4 phases. Therefore, it is equally important to know who owns these satellites and how would they contribute to the socio-economic situation of the countries. As Prime Minister Narendra Modi said," advanced space technology will enable accurate warning, like in the case of Cyclone Phailin, which saved countless lives recently", most of these satellites will be an invaluable asset in disaster management.

He also pointed out how GIS technology has transformed policy planning, implementation and noted that space imaging enables modern management, conservation of water.

Its not 'rocket' science

SPOT 7: French-owned, this satellite is identical to SPOT-6, which ISRO had launched in 2012. SPOT 7 will be placed diametrically opposite to SPOT-6, forming an integral part of the existing Earth observation satellite. SPOT-7 was built by the European space technology company Airbus Defence and Space.

AISAT: Built by Germany, this satellite would focus on the global sea-traffic monitoring system with special emphasis on high traffic zones using AIS signals. This is also Germany's first DLR satellite in the nano-satellite class.

NLS 7.1 and NLS 7.2: Designed by the University of Toronto, Institute of Aerospace Studies/Space Flight Laboratory in Canada. Both payloads would perform Two-spacecraft precision formation flying using differential GPS with centimetre-level relative position and sub-metre level accurate position control system.

VELOX-1: Built by Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, this is a technology demonstrator for in-house design of image sensor, MEMS-based attitude determination and control system and inter-satellite RF link.

The above-mentioned five satellites were launched in commercial contract with ANTRIX (ISRO's commercial arm). Till now, ISRO has launched 35 satellites from 19 countries across the globe, which include Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Singapore, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Turkey and United Kingdom.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...