Youths to lead CPI(M) in West Bengal Polls; 150 new faces up

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
CPI(M) party sign
Kolkata, Mar 14: Mamata Banerjee led Trinamool Congress announced to mar CPI(M)'s 34-years-of rule in West Bengal in the upcoming assembly election. But it seems that the ruling party is not yet ready to leave a single inch of battleground without a tough fight. CPI(M) has come up with a young agenda with young faces to tackle Trinamool in the state.

For the ensuing election in the state, the party on Sunday, Mar 13 declared the names of the candidates with 150 new faces. The party shocked many when it dropped nine ministers of the outgoing state Cabinet and nominated 114 new candidates.

The party nominated 56 Muslim candidates while 46 women candidates have been nominated by the ruling party CPI(M). Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee will contest from his existing constituency - Jadavpur. Though the party has changed constituencies of some other ministers.

After releasing the list, party chairman Biman Bose accused the election commission (EC) of being partial towards some parties and being more active against CPI(M).

"The model code of conduct of the Election Commission is more and more being used against us," claimed Bose. Pointing at Trinamool's move, Bose also stated, "Trinamool Congress has not yet removed party cut-outs from government offices and the party-run Kolkata Municipal Corporation violating the model code of conduct while we have done so (removal)."

Meanwhile, Congress and Trinamool Congress have reportedly narrowed the distance over seat sharing fiasco. During the meeting of the senior leaders on Sunday, both parties have landed on a mutual understanding, sources informed.

Congress has whittled down its wish list from 100 to 75 seats while Trinamool, which was initially offering only 45 seats, is now willing to go up to 60 in the 294-member state Assembly, claimed sources.

West Bengal assembly polls will be held in six phases starting from Apr 18. The elections will be held on - Apr 18, Apr 23, Apr 27, May 3, May 7 and May 10. The counting will be held on May 13.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...