• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Nobel for Literature goes to Mario Vargas Llosa

By Samyuktha

Mario Vargas Llosa
Stockholm, Oct 7: Putting an end to all the speculation, the Swedish Academy here on Thursday, Oct 7 named Mario Vargas Llosa the winner of the 2010 Nobel Prize for Literature.

The announcement posted on nobelprize.org read, "The Nobel Prize in Literature 2010 was awarded to Mario Vargas Llosa 'for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat'."

The Peruvian-Spanish writer is considered as one of the key figures of the Latin American Boom of 1960s and 1970s.

Llosa is not only a literary figure, but also plays the roles of a politician and journalist. His literary genres include novels, essays and literary criticism.

The writer influenced by and part of modernism and post-modernism has written comedies, murder mysteries, historical novels, and political thrillers.

Some of this works include 'The Time of the Hero' (La ciudad y los perros, 1963), 'The Green House' (La casa verde, 1965), and 'Conversation in the Cathedral' (Conversación en la catedral, 1969).

Llosa is still an active writer.

Media speculation all in vain?

Hours ahead of the announcement speculations were rife in the media on the potential winners. The announcement has, interestingly, unveiled a winner who was not part of the long list chalked out by media.

The "most likely" winners' list included American novelists Philip Roth, Cormac McCarthy, Canadian short story writer and 2009 Man Booker International Prize, Alice Munro, Ngugi wa Thiong'o of Kenya among others

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more