Roy appoints Chairmen to quell infighting in MP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shillong, Mar 31 (UNI) In order to quell infighting, 30 out of the 32 Meghalaya Progressive Alliance (MPA) legislators have been accommodated to serve under various capacities today.

Only two legislators, former Chief Minister E K Malwong and newly elected legislator from Baghmara, Satto Marak remain to be accommodated.

Chief Minister Dr Donkupar Roy today appointed seven legislators as Chairmen of various boards and corporations. This development comes after the MPA government appointed eight Parliamentary Secretaries on March 24 last.

Under the present arrangement, Nihim D Shira, Philipole Marak, Marcuise Marak, James K Sangma, Desang M Sangma, Omilio K Sangma all from Nationalist Congress Party(NCP) and two United Democratic Party (UDP) MLAs, Remington Pyngrope and M Ampareen Lyngdoh are PS.

Those appointed as Chairmen include former Lok Sabha Speaker and Chief Ministers Purno A Sangma, State Planning Board and J D Rymbai, Meghalaya Economic Development Council. Both posts were equivalent to the rank of Cabinet Minister.

NCP legislator, John Manner, Meghalaya Government Construction Company Limited, UDP legislator Ardent Miller, Meghalaya Mineral Development Corporation Limited, UDP legislator Metbah Lyngdoh Meghalaya Industrial Development Council, NCP legislator Manson Sing Sangma, Meghalaya Tourism Development Corporation, UDP legislator Donbok Kymdeit Mawmlu Cherra Cement Limited were all now Chairman of their respective boards and corporations.

Earlier, 24 legislators were accommodated either as Cabinet ministers, speaker, deputy speaker or government chief whip.

The MPA is a combine of five coalition partners, including NCP, UDP, Hills State People Democratic Party (HSPDP), Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) and BJP and enjoys a razor thin majority, with 32 members, in the 60-member House.


Please Wait while comments are loading...