ECI notification for constitution of 11th Assembly in Nagaland

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Mar 11 (UNI) The Election Commission of India (ECI) today issued a notification for the constitution of the 11th Legislative Assembly of Nagaland.

In a release here, Nagaland Chief Electoral Officer C J Ponraj said according to the ECI notification, 59 elected members had already been notified since repolling in one polling station under Suruhoto Assembly constituency in Zunheboto district will be held tomorrow.

The EC notification is in pursuance of Section 73 of the Representation of peoples Act, 1951.

Earlier, the Commission in its notification had ordered completion of the election process in Nagaland by today, but repolling in Suruhoto Assembly constituency has stalled the completion of the election process.

The Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) on March 9, had paraded 34 elected legislators in front of Nagaland Governor K Sankaranarayanan and staked claim to form the new government.

However, there were other formalities to be completed, such as President Pratibha Patil was yet to dissolve the 10th Nagaland Legislative Assembly on recommendation of the Governor and the ECI had to issue notification for constitution of the 11th Nagaland Legislative Assembly after the completion of the election process under Section 73 of the Representation of Peoples Act.

Besides, after having been satisfied that a stable government could be formed, the Governor has to recommend the President to revoke President's Rule and subsequently the leader of the largest party or group would be appointed as the Chief Minister and the swearing-in of the Council of Ministers could proceed.

The DAN has 34 MLAs in the Assembly, with the Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF) having 26, BJP two, NCP two and four Independent members ''unconditionally'' supporting the DAN.


Please Wait while comments are loading...