Spiritual leader to get Thiruvalluvar Award

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Jan 7 (UNI) The Tamil Nadu Government will confer the ''Thiruvalluvar Award'' for 2008 on Spiritual Leader Kundrakudi Ponnambala Adigalar.

Announcing the awards, Chief Minister M Karunanidhi said the Thanthai Periyar Award for Social Justice for 2007 would be given to Kavithai Pithan and Arignar Anna Award to Prof Saradha Nambi Arooran.

He also announced that the Kamaraj Award would be given to Former Legislator Pattukottai A R Marimuthu, Bharathiyar Award to Poet Soundaram Kailasam, Thiru Vi Ka Award to Dr T Periandavan, Bharathidasan Award to Trichy M S Venkatachalam and K A P Viswanatham Award to Poet Vezhavendhan.

Mr Karunanidhi said the high level committee chaired by him would meet on January 9 to decide the recipient of the Dr Ambedkar Award for 2007.


Please Wait while comments are loading...