• search
For Visakhapatnam Updates
Allow Notification  

21 Maoists killed in encounter on AP-Odisha border


Visakhapatnam (AP), Oct 24: Twenty-one Maoists were gunned down in an exchange of fire with the Greyhounds of Andhra Pradesh and Odisha Police in Malkangiri forest area on the AP-Odisha border in the wee hours today, a top police official said.

Police suspect that a top Maoist leader and son of another high ranking cadre might be among those killed in the encounter. AP Director General of Police, Nanduri Sambasiva Rao who left for Visakhapatnam immediately upon receiving news of the encounter, confirmed the Naxal casualties to PTI.


According to AP Police, two constables of Greyhounds, an elite anti-Maoist force, were also injured in the encounter that occurred during a routine combing operation being jointly carried out by police of both the states at Ramgurha in Malkangiri district of Odisha.

The face-off between the security personnel and the outlaws lasted for about an hour. The injured constables were shifted for treatment to the King George Hospital in Visakhapatnam by helicopter, the police official added.

Police have recovered four AK-47 rifles from the scene of the encounter, where a Maoist den was also found. The DGP said combing operation was still continuing as there was information that there were some more Maoists roaming in the region.


Visakhapatnam Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
M V V Satyanarayana YSRCP Winner 4,36,906 35% 4,414
Bharat Mathukumilli TDP Runner Up 4,32,492 35% 4,414
Kambhampati Hari Babu BJP Winner 5,66,832 49% 90,488
Y.s Vijayamma YSRCP Runner Up 4,76,344 41% 0
Daggubati Purandeswari INC Winner 3,68,812 36% 66,686
Palla Srinivasa Rao PRAP Runner Up 3,02,126 30% 0
Janardhana Reddy Nedurumalli INC Winner 5,24,122 54% 1,30,571
Dr.m.v.v.s.murthy TDP Runner Up 3,93,551 41% 0
M.v.v.s.murthy TDP Winner 4,42,036 50% 38,919
T.subbarami Reddy INC Runner Up 4,03,117 46% 0
Subbarami Reddy.t INC Winner 3,75,782 42% 61,517
Ananda Gajapathi Raju Pusapati TDP Runner Up 3,14,265 35% 0
T. Subbarami Reddi INC Winner 3,65,700 44% 7,459
Ananda Gajapathi Raju Poosapati TDP Runner Up 3,58,241 43% 0
M.v.v.s. Murthi TDP Winner 2,89,793 46% 5,138
Uma Gajapathiraju (w) INC Runner Up 2,84,655 45% 0
Uma Gajapathi Raju Poosapati INC Winner 3,52,326 50% 25,733
M.v.v.s. Murthy TDP Runner Up 3,26,593 47% 0
Bhattam Sreerama Murthy TDP Winner 3,34,399 61% 1,40,431
Appalaswamy Kommuru Alias Sanjeeva Rao INC Runner Up 1,93,968 35% 0
Appalaswamy Kommuru INC(I) Winner 2,06,581 51% 34,635
Bhattam Srirama Murthy INC(U) Runner Up 1,71,946 42% 0
Dronamraju Satyanarayana INC Winner 1,71,657 51% 42,829
Tenneti Viswanathan BLD Runner Up 1,28,828 38% 0
P. V. G. Raju IND Winner 1,84,464 58% 67,188
Tenneti Viswanatham IND Runner Up 1,17,276 37% 0
T. Viswanatham IND Winner 1,36,766 42% 34,073
P. Venkatrao INC Runner Up 1,02,693 32% 0
Vijaya Ananada INC Winner 1,59,423 70% 91,142
Maddi Pattabhirama Reddy SWA Runner Up 68,281 30% 0
Pusapati Vijayarama Gajapathi Raju IND Winner 88,563 65% 61,114
Mallavarapu Venkata Krishna Rao INC Runner Up 27,449 20% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more