SP's Nahid Hasan wins Kairana Assembly bypoll

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Muzaffarnagar, Oct 19: Samajwadi Party's Nahid Hasan has won the bye-elections for Kairana Assembly seat by defeating his nearest rival BJP's Anil Chouhan.

The result was declared today at Shamli, near here. Hasan got 83,984 votes, while Chouhan was polled 82,885 votes, said Returning Officer Suresh Kumar Mishra.

Congress candidate Arshad Hasan got 16,906 votes, he said.

A total of eight candidates had contested the elections.

Bypoll was held here as BJP MLA from the seat Hukum Singh was elected MP from the Kairana Lok Sabha seat.

Voting for the seat was held on October 15.


Please Wait while comments are loading...